Not a Mama BUT Still in the Kitchen

Well, I know this month is all about moms in the kitchen and for years I bought into the fact that you needed to have a family in order to cook. Then I found myself single, twenty-seven, and a creator of a food board on Pinterest that was getting full of wishes and no actual food to show for it.

So I started something called “Pinterest Monday.”

I created a board of recipes that I have actually made and enjoyed. Let’s be real—I started a blank board and have been growing it since the start of “Pinterest Mondays.” I think I am up to about eight or ten recipes that I have tried and liked.

So here’s the deal, I set aside Mondays to cook and spend time with the Lord. Living a single life in Dallas, well anywhere really, means it is hard to say ‘no’ to activities. Then somehow your weeknights and weekends get full weeks in advance and you find yourself lost in the shuffle and having eaten out for weeks straight.

Just me?

The best part of this new Monday tradition is that something happens when you are cooking, even if it is just for yourself. There is a joy in finishing a recipe and enjoying that it tastes great! I feel so accomplished and love that what I’ve prepared lasts me a week’s worth of lunches. The plus side to this new tradition is that it saves me money; and, more importantly, my heart finds rest in these moments where I am alone with the Lord. So I spend my Mondays enjoying my kitchen and seeking the Lord through this quiet time!

This week I made a pasta bake and some sausage dip for a Final Four party! Join me in setting aside a quiet night with the Lord if you dare. The verse that is inspiring to me right now is Joshua 1:9, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous! Do not tremble or be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

imageimage

About the Writer:
Liz–just a girl who spends her days with fifth graders challenging the normal way of teaching, her afternoons with friends laughing and challenging the definition of community to be something much deeper, and her evenings with Dancing with the Stars and Pinterest, challenging the worldly norm of a 27 year old. 

Liz has a personal blog: http://amazeoftheunknown.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

