A Call to the Table

My husband and I are what you might call “table people.” We love nothing more than to have friends and family gather around our dining room table for hours of good food and fellowship. This has been the practice in the Duncan household for as long as I can remember. I relish cooking delicious food to serve to the people I love and care about. There is something so sacred in sharing the labor of my love with others to enjoy.
A Call to the Table
In our world of constant going, working, tweeting, texting, emailing, you name it, we have lost this beautiful art. Yet this is what I have learned over the years. When I choose to create time and space in the hectic schedule that is my life, I am always a better wife, momma, and friend for it. Sitting at the table, staring into the eyes of those gathered, the conversations begin. The real stuff—fears, struggles, successes, dreams, all the parts of our lives—comes pouring out. We so rarely share our real selves in this “hyper speed, say a quick hello, things are always great” world.

I find most of us, if not all, are craving a place to belong, a community, a scared spot if you will. This is not a new concept or idea. Acts 2:42 says, “they were continually devoting themselves to the apostles’ teaching and to fellowship, to the breaking of bread and to prayer.”

At the table, I am able to be known. When Christ spoke the words in Matthew 11:28, ”Come to me, all who are weary and heavy-laden,” it reminds me that as His Body we are also to share in each other’s burdens (Galatians 6:2). As believers in Christ, we get to partake in the blessing that is His Body. I can’t think of a more beautiful way to be the tangible hands and feet of Christ than to open our hearts and our homes to one another. The focus is not about a perfectly set table, a James Beard award winning recipe, or being the perfect Martha Stewart hostess. Simply stated, it’s a call to the table where we can share, encourage, edify, and nourish one another.

About the Writer:
Born in Kentucky, growing up in Arkansas, and now living in Texas, has given this southern preacher’s daughter many unique experiences. Whether setting a table for a new friend, preparing a meal for family, or sharing the love of Christ with a wounded soul, Nesli does it with passion and style. Married to her best friend, a mom to three precious girls, and a life long learner of Gods word, Nesli is excited to share her journey.

3 thoughts on “A Call to the Table

  1. Thanks for sharing Nesli! You truly live this out! I’ve been blessed to sit at your table and encouraged in Christ by the friendship that’s engendered there!

  2. Pingback: Redeeming the Table Take 2 | Yada, Yada

Leave a Reply

