What Creeps Into Your Kitchen

My kitchen has become my “office” this year. A crowded little corner of my kitchen, where my laptop sits, is also a hub for the headlines of the day to seep and creep into my life.

It always starts with searching for a new recipe or checking email. I leave my laptop open as I check the ingredient list, and then, I take a U-turn from cooking into looking.

I usually find myself checking Facebook and blogs, chasing rabbit trails about everything from green smoothie challenges (highly recommend) to world affairs. The day I wrote this blog, the headlines blazed about World Vision, differing views on a very hot topic, and what Jesus did and did not say. If you’re not familiar, I will leave the Googling up to you.

And in that corner of my kitchen, I read the words of leaders, activists, even pastors reminding us that Jesus was about love, service, and protecting the poor and downtrodden. I am not writing to debate the columns of the day, but rather, ask the question that keeps coming to my mind as I read these writings: Can we love God?

I John 5:3 hangs on my fridge right now: “For this is love for God, that we keep his commandments.”

Jesus taught this is how we love God. In Matthew chapter 22, the Pharisees question him, “Teacher, what is the greatest commandment?” Jesus replied, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the greatest commandment.” What is a commandment? Webster’s says it is an important rule given by God that tells people how to behave.

It strikes me that as much as we want to talk about Jesus and his unending love, we need to start talking about whether we love Him in return. If we desire a relationship with Him, we must love in return through actions and knowledge that is obedient to the word of God, the Bible. Jesus says later in Matthew 24:35, “Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will not pass away.”

There is talk and speculation about what Jesus did and did not say—then there is knowing what He actually said.

So, the question remains: Can we love God?

Do you wonder about that question? If so, can you find the time to open a Bible and read Jesus’ words? BibleAnd if you read your Bible regularly, can you search His commands and compare those to your actions? “For this is love for God, that we keep his commandments.” I John 5:3 

About the Writer:
Sarah Lary

Leave a Reply

