Learning is Fun

As summer kicks into gear, our family will struggle with the absence of routine and structure.  With three children who have autism, routine is our friend.  During the summer though, everything changes.

School schedules are different.  Therapy schedules change. Bedtimes are disrupted by late sunsets. Bible study classes get put on hold. Quiet times are not so quiet.  Through all these changes, what I have learned is the Lord is good and in spite of all the distractions, He still teaches me something big every summer.

My routine, my schedule, my daily list all seem to function so well during the school year.  That’s primarily because I am focused on the Lord.  He is at the top of my list each day.  He’s the last thing on my mind each night.  But summer comes, and I’m distracted.  It’s been a learning curve for me to understand that the Lord is the same as He was in May as He is in July.  So why don’t I feel like He is?  It’s not because He’s changed, it’s because I’ve changed.

I often mistake the Lord’s silence for absence.  I expect Him to speak directly to me when I speak to Him.  I expect answers to be clear.  So why is it that my biggest lessons have come during times where I felt the Lord has been silent?  Why are these lessons typically during the summer?

Learning is Fun
Summer isn’t just about fun and games.  It’s about growing in the Word, learning from the Lord, staying plugged into your Bible and friends who will encourage and pour into you.  I know this summer will be chaos in the absence of our routine but learning about God’s perfect plan for my life will be a challenge, it will be full of growing pains.  But as long as I stayed connected to Him I will be okay.  I am most thankful “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever” (Hebrews 13:8).

Let the fun begin!

About the Writer:
Tamie is a stay at home wife and mommy of three kids with autism. She is a member of First Baptist Dallas and enjoys spending time hanging out at home with her family. Tamie has a servant’s heart and it passionate about encouraging other woman in their daily walk with the Lord.

Tamie’s personal blog is about her journey rearing three kids with autism and the lessons the Lord is teaching her along the way.

http://piecesofgraceblog.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

