In Transition

Transitions. I’ve never been good with them. Right now, I seem to be at stasis while my world changes at lightning speed. A new family member. Friends getting married and having babies. Aging grandparents.

And I can’t keep up. This time not too long ago, I was getting up every morning for band camp and coming home every afternoon in a panic to finish my summer reading before the first day of school. Then I was preparing for college, walking the deserted campus to make sure I could find the right building on my first day. Then looking for my first job and wishing I were still learning how to drive.Hebrews13:8

The only thing consistent about life is that it constantly changes. For a girl that craves stability or warms up to change slowly, that’s a tough pill to swallow.

But that’s the problem, right? My stability coming from people and my environment. Those things change, too. But what I am constantly reminded of is that Jesus is the same yesterday, today, and forever (Hebrews 13:8). He doesn’t change like shifting shadows (James 1:17). I can take him at his word. His love never waivers and his presence never falters. His voice always whispers, but I fail to hear it when I get caught up in the whirlwind.

So that’s what I’m learning in a season of transition. That I can find satisfaction that my Father is constant. He knows my heart intimately. And even when I wonder and wander, he continues to reach out for my hand with a gentle whisper, “Trust me with tomorrow.”

This month, we are talking about transitions – in life, in seasons, in people, places, and things. As you prepare kids for school, summer comes to a close, and we get ready for fall, don’t forget the one constant in the crazy. And in the midst of it all, don’t see the moment and change as ultimate. He is.

 

Kariss Lynch writes contemporary fiction about characters with big dreams, hearts for adventure, and enduring hope. Shaken, her first book in the Heart of a Warrior series, released in February 2014. Her second novel, Shadowed, releases March 3, 2015. A former freelance writer, she now works as the writer for the communications ministry at a church in Dallas.

One thought on “In Transition

  1. Having moved countries, I realise i certainly fall into a category of women who embrace change. Im not saying that tears weren’t shed, in fact many were, and my character tested. In Times of doubt, loneliness and confusion, My strength has come from the Lord. Ladies, if you are anything like me a sense of direction Is not in my genes! Coupled with driving on the opposite side of the road as to S A, I can tell you my navigation system was really polite! “Make a u turn”, and “re-calculating”, are words I can now do without! This last year has been a time of my heart and soul re calculating, and concluding that following Jesus is to be the centre of my life. God is faithful, His presence very real, and even if at the end of this, we head back to SA, I am grateful for this period in time, where God has chosen to draw me to Him. No matter how tumultous life is, He is the rock, and anchor in the storm.
    We sing “Turn your eyes upon Jesus, look full in His wonderful face, and the things of the earth will grow strangely dim, in the light of His glory and grace. ”
    I encourage you, seek Him with all your heart, He promises that you will find Him!

Leave a Reply

