Transitioning from a Period (.) to an Ellipsis (…)

Oh, transition… This is a phase of life I know so well right now. Past transitions always happened fast for me. I visited one collage and knew immediately that was where the Lord wanted me. I visited Washington State for one week to help launch a new church, came home and told my parents I would be moving there in the coming fall. The decision to leave Washington happened in a matter of hours; I left in a matter of weeks and had a job lined up even before I made it back to Texas.

Transitions in my life have always come with a strong period (.) to close that chapter of my life. The Lord would graciously grant me much clarity in decision making allowing change to happen at a rather quick rate.

All of this has changed for me as I currently sit and wait for the Lord to reveal this next phase.

I am at a point where I could do anything, go anywhere; and I have asked the Lord to take me on a journey. Yet all I get is a “stay right there” and a “be patient.”

What in the past would have been a strong period is now an ellipsis.

My personal definition of ellipsis:
A moment of transition that comes when I must trust in the Lord’s plan and not my own.

As I find myself in this ellipsis, where God is asking me to trust him, I realize that I have two options: to press into Him or run from Him.

A younger version of me would have run and fled (pulled a Jonah some might say). However, I am finding peace in community that allows me to process honestly and in a creator God who longs to know me deeply and intimately.
Summer Camp
This summer (as a counselor at youth camp) I was reminded of the passage in Mark chapter one where Jesus introduces Himself to the world. What an entrances He made! Mark 1:14-15 says that Christ was proclaiming the gospel, telling people to repent and believe. He spoke with such authority and power.

If you keep reading into Mark chapter two, you see story upon story of Jesus healing, calling, and answering. This is who Christ is all the time. We must cling to this during our transition, even if the transition is an ellipsis calling us to wait.

Transitions call us to change; they call us to more than before. Mark reminds us of the power and authority Christ brought with Him. This reminder is one that beacons the question, “Why not press into Him?” Christ is more than we some times give Him credit for.

So, here is what I have learned; we are being called to transition in a posture that reflects all Christ is capable of doing in and through us.

About the Writer:
Liz, just a girl who spends her days with fifth graders challenging the normal way of teaching, spends her afternoons with her friends laughing and challenging the definition of community to be something much deeper, and spends her evenings with dancing with the stars and Pinterest, challenging the worldly norm of a 27 year old.
 

One thought on “Transitioning from a Period (.) to an Ellipsis (…)

  1. Aww Ms Liz you are in the exact same place that my daughter Ashley is. She is 23. I just want to encourage you to know that the steps of the righteous are ordered by the Lord. There are times He tells us to ‘be still and know that I am God.’ These quiet times or times of waiting on the Lord may be a season of entering into His peace and rest preparing you for what lies ahead. Enjoy, in fact embrace this season of your life. Know this sweetie, you are precious to the Heavenly Father. You are a blessing looking for opportunity.

Leave a Reply

