Keep Calm

We have all seen the poster “Keep Calm and Carry On.” We probably muttered the motto a time or two during a season of change or transition. Well, if you are anything like me, a creature of habit and comfort, you certainly are familiar with this word: “encouragement.”

What is it about change that freaks us out? A new job, career change, new school, off to college, marriage, new baby, new neighborhood, new town, sending our precious children to a new teacher, and so many other changes that we experience throughout life. Do you feel emotions of anxiety, sadness, fear of the unknown, no control, and worry? Or do you immediately feel excited with anticipation for the new opportunities that will come with the change? That’s right! New opportunities!

Let me challenge you as God has challenged me time and time again. Yes, change still gets me amped up, but in a different way. Before I let fear, worry, and anxiety creep in, I begin to pray and thank God for the upcoming opportunities. Change brings in new opportunities for God to stretch me out of my comfort zone, refine me, challenge me, and use me for His kingdom. That is encouraging and exciting news!

This year I am experiencing a career change after 16 years, sending my precious oldest child off to Kindergarten (yes, I will be at the Boo Hoo Breakfast on the first day of school), and we are expecting a third bundle of joy to arrive around Thanksgiving. Changes? Um, yes! Do moments of anxiety from the unknown creep in from timeTrust On to time? Yes! But, I am keeping calm and trusting God as He leads me during this new season full of new opportunities.

I am praying for the opportunity to start my own business and operate in a way that is honoring and praiseworthy to God. I am praying for all the new families and friends that we will meet at our son’s school. I pray that we get to witness to and be the hands and feet of Christ to them. I am praying for the new friendships that will challenge my family and sharpen us. I pray for all the ways my son will grow and be challenged in his faith. I pray for the precious child that we anxiously wait to meet and love on. I pray for all the peace, patience, and joy that come with parenthood and adjusting to a family of five.

Pray OnLet’s be encouraged and challenged to keep calm, pray, trust God, and carry on His will for our lives.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

About the Writer:
Rhonda is wife to a wonderful teammate who loves the Lord. She is mother to two precious boys and to another blessing on the way. She is thankful for God’s abundant grace, passionate about encouraging others (especially in their walk with the Lord), and enjoys family time and fun with godly girlfriends.

 

 

Leave a Reply

