A Season of Faithfulness

Train up a child in the way he should go,
Even when he is old he will not depart from it.
Proverbs 22:6

I volunteer with CASA, Court Appointed Special Advocates. It is the most impactful and rewarding community service I have ever been involved in. Through CASA I meet many of the family members of the children in CPS care, including great grandmothers in some cases. My heart breaks as I can clearly see that the hurts and brokenness of these families began many generations ago.

I’ve also been blessed by the opposite.

For our third wedding anniversary (leather for those of you who haven’t memorized traditional anniversary gifts), I had a Bible that Eric’s grandmother gave his grandfather in the 1970’s re-covered. The notes and the underlined verses in that old Bible are precious to me. I am blessed that our grandparents and parents have cultivated faithfulness in us (Psalm 37:3). Their (and our) actions reverberate through the generations.

We are blessed with a daughter, 9 months old and cute as a button. God has clearly told me that His calling for me in this season is to cultivate faithfulness in her. Nothing I do as a parent compares in significance to teaching our children the unchanging truths found in the Bible of Christ’s love.

I recently read a sweet blog that was shared on First Baptist Dallas’ Great Expectations Facebook Group that reminded me how I can share Jesus with my 9 month old. I’m not talking deep theology—this is basic. I read her a baby Bible and when I get to the part about Jesus my face lights up. I get super excited and loud proclaiming, “Baby JESUS! Baby JESUS!” My precious daughter’s eyes widen in amazement.

My most frequent prayer is probably, “Lord, grant my children the gift of salvation.” I want to be very intentional in how I raise children because God requires my obedience in that. However, I also acknowledge constantly that He saves them, not me.

One of my greatest fears is that we would do all the right things, but they would completely miss the love of Christ. It is so easy to model that performance matters more than the heart. I pray that our daughter will see that the Bible and our relationships with Jesus Christ aren’t something mama and daddy do to “check the box,” but are a road map for how we live our lives.

How do you cultivate faithfulness in your family? I’d love for your to share what God has laid on your heart. And if you read this and feel discouraged in your past attempts, please remember it starts with grace. God’s grace covers every way in which we’ve failed. It’s a new season. Seek God, and He will show you His will for how to cultivate faithfulness in your family. Begin anew today.

About the Writer:
Caroline Moore is a wife and mom who loves Jesus. She also has a career in commercial real estate investing. God has given her a heart for encouraging other women. She and her husband, Eric, are the directors of the Fellowship Class, a young married Sunday School class, at First Baptist Dallas.

3 thoughts on “A Season of Faithfulness

  1. My favorite way that I’ve watched it in our house is through my husband…he has prayed with them, sang scripture over them, help them memorize scripture at a very early age and spends quality time with them. Having an earthly father that has invested in them the wisdom of our Heavenly Father has been a blessing to me for 8 years.

  2. Caroline, thanks to you for sharing you continue to encourge me. Rasing kids in this day and age we have to constantly remind them of the corrupt world we live in, daily I encourge my older girls to have a servants heart and to reach out to people in school who might not feel welcome or feel like they don’t have a friend and just talk to them, amke them feel wanted, you never know how just the smallest conversation might affect their day in a positive way. We are working on praying in our house to let the kids know we can pray for anything and everything… Not just thanks for our food. God will provide and we need to seek him daily in prayer. Love you sweet heart friend and thanks again for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

