Embracing the Seasons

It was a lovely fall day as we sailed along State Highway 19, all framed in by trees sporting every hue of orange, red, and gold. I felt like I was living a page out of “Texas Highways” magazine!

AutumnSpringAs we drove along and marveled at the colors, a new thought came to me – the proverbial light-bulb flash. It struck me that God hadn’t just gifted us with autumn beauty. He presented those same trees in every shade of green in the spring. He could have done it all in gray, but that’s not His style. Looking at all of creation, it is evident, He creates with flourish.

I think of God creating Adam and blessing him for no reason except that He is a God that loves to give good gifts to His children. Surely God delighted in every new discovery Adam and Eve made. Then came those people who settled for the Plain of Shinar to build their tower to the Heavens. “Wait, there’s more,” God could have said. “Discover the ocean’s beaches, Victoria Falls, the Alps, and of course — Texas!”

I’m not sure if the Plain of Shinar has our four seasons. Personally, I prefer summer, because in my formative years I lived in a city that averaged 43 inches of snow each winter. Still, I enjoyed sledding, snow balls, and the ice designs that formed on the inside of my cold bedroom window. However, I don’t think Dad enjoyed going to the freezing basement every morning to “start the furnace” or got much of a kick out of shoveling snow. I never knew him to complain, though; he’d just laugh and make the best of it.

There is a reason for all that snow, and it has something to do with filling the aquifers with beneficial fresh water. That’s not what kept Dad smiling though. He knew the snow would only last for a season, and summer would eventually come. On top of that, he was planning on better days ahead — he was moving us all to Texas!

Our lives are divided into seasons, and while some are more enjoyable than others, they all serve a purpose. This is why Paul wrote so positively, “my circumstances have turned out for the greater progress of the gospel” (Philippians 1:12). He viewed his life as seasons and embraced each one. “In any and all circumstances I have learned the secret of being content,” he could testify. He could make these claims because “the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength.” and ”the Lord will rescue me from every evil attack and will bring me safely to his heavenly kingdom” (Philippians 4:12,17-18 HCSB). Even my dad would say that assurance is better than moving to Texas!

About the Writer:
Ruthe Turner spent the first seasons of her life in North Dakota, where her daddy promised someday she would meet a tall Texan and get to go to a really big Baptist Church. Daddy always kept his promises. Ruthe is thrilled with her current season, serving as Director of Truett Library of First Baptist.

One thought on “Embracing the Seasons

  1. I love it, Ruthe! Such a sweet reminder that God is a God of details and delights in giving His beloved children the special treats of the earth’s beauty.

Leave a Reply

