Eternity after Fall

Not long ago we had an atypical band of cooler weather here in Texas to quench the hot summer sun. The usual triple digit temperatures were wafted away by a lovely summer rain. For a few days the temperatures were in the low to mid 80’s and even the air carried the scent of fall. Almost immediately I found myself reminiscing—memories so vivid that I could literally feel the gentle rain blowing against my face and tousling my hair. Happy thoughts lifted my mood and put spring into my step until I realized that the former fond memories were dead. They would not be coming back with the change of seasons.

Fall is a bittersweet season for many. Within the beauty of change and the anticipation of holidays, something else is dying and will most surely die. The golden hues of autumn remind me that life is fleeting, as the leaves — here today, gone tomorrow (Psalm 144:4). The effervescence of life’s most precious moments is very much like the fallen leaves, vapid at my feet.

As sadness and grief for what is already lost or what is sure to pass fills my heart, there is a promise from God’s Word that quickly catapults my resolve (Matthew 6:19-21). God has already told me that this life is but a tiny extraction from my eternity (2 Corinthians 4 & 5). I have a kingly inheritance awaiting me and the promise of a future that is wholly restored and free from tears (Revelation 21:3-4). This season of life, outside of Eden, is not for amassing fond memories. It is for serving my KAs Jesusing.

Though I may bask in the blessings of God’s goodness, deeply drinking in the loving-kindness that He pours out in abundance; He gives me a higher calling for my short time here. The One who called me out of darkness and into light also gives me the chance to join Him and His purposes (1 Peter 2:9). This life on earth is a dynamic relationship with Him — one where He is changing me, teaching me and pouring me out for the sake of others. If I choose to cultivate my relationship with God above the pleasures of this world, I need not grieve the passing of the temporal. God is accomplishing within me and through me things that will last forever.

“Therefore, since we receive a kingdom which cannot be shaken, let us show gratitude, by which we may offer to God an acceptable service with reverence and awe; for our God is a consuming fire.”

Hebrews 12:28-29

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ. At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

Lyndsay has a blog dedicated to sharing and celebrating the work of Christ through her experiences as a missionary, world traveler, knowledge seeker, and recipient of God’s lavish grace.

 

One thought on “Eternity after Fall

  1. Lyndsay, What a beautiful reminder. Thank you so much for sharing your heart. I love this, needed to hear it, and it was a confirmation for me from my personal study time. Thanks for being clay in the Potter’s hands! Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

