October Bride

It’s been close to seventeen years ago, but it seems like it just happened yesterday – my wedding that is! It is the happiest of all my fall memories because it truly was the day that I married my best friend. He and I are high school sweethearts. We’ve been together twenty-one years and will be married for seventeen years on October 18th. We were fifteen and sixteen years old when we met and fell in love, and our relationship has only gotten better as the years have gone by.

As the summer months come to an end and the leaves take on those vibrant fall colors, it signals the arrival of another year we get to celebrate being together. My precious husband is my rock, my protector, my lover, my counselor and my best friend. In so many ways he’s been a savior to me. My heart loves him fiercely. Marrying him will go down in the history of my life as one of the best decisions I ever made!Fall wedding

The physical world mirrors the spiritual. You see, whether you are male or female, married or not, if you belong to the Lord Jesus Christ, you are His bride. Like our physical husbands, Christ is ultimately our Rock, Protector, Lover, Counselor, Best Friend and most importantly, our Savior. Marriage is beautiful when done correctly; it honors God who created the institution in the first place.

Ephesians 5:21-33 outlines how husbands and wives are supposed to interact with one another. It speaks on submitting to one another out of reverence for Christ and summarizes the roles men and women play in the marriage relationship. When you have two people submitted to God and one another, who do marriage the way God designed it, it works. It’s never perfect. Problems still arise and disagreements happen, but when God is the center, He makes things that we as humans typically dislike, such as compromise and sacrifice, much easier.

As daylight gets shorter and the days get colder, I get closer to my wedding anniversary. If you are married, my prayer is that you and your spouse would surrender to God’s headship in your lives; and that your relationship would be blessed, enjoyable and something you look forward to working on making better each day!  If you find yourself on the other side of the equation, my prayer for you is that you would remember what Paul said in 1 Corinthians 7. Please take the time to read it in its fullness, but pay close attention to verse 34 which reads, “…her aim is to be devoted to the Lord in both body and spirit.”  If you are not married, devote yourself to God, and He will take care of the rest.

I thank God for marriage and the husband He blessed me with. I pray that as I near my favorite fall memory, that you would remember that you too are a bride – the bride of Christ. I pray that your heart would love Him fiercely. I know from experience that giving my life to Him will go down in the history of my life as THE best decision I’ve ever made!

About the Writer:
Nicole enjoys reading, writing, cooking and spending time with her two favorite people – her husband and son. She realizes marriage takes a lot of hard work and commitment, but the payoff is one of the most awesome relationships God has given mankind. She and her husband have found it to be worth the effort on both parts.

Leave a Reply

