A Season to Celebrate

Fall is upon us, and while the temperatures in Dallas may still feel like summer, school is in full swing and college football has begun. Can I get an Amen? I adore all things fall; pumpkin everything, soups for dinner with crusty French bread and aged cheddar, spiced cider, chai tea lattes, cozy sweaters, boots, jeans…you get the idea. Fall is my very favorite season. The Duncan girls know at the first sign of a somewhat cool day, we will have our inaugural pot of chili, the first of many to come. Aside from the brilliant colors and divine smells of fall, my love for this season is rooted in the traditions we have set as a family. I have been told I am the “keeper of traditions.” I anticipate hosting friends and family throughout the entirety of the season. It is no secret that I love a celebration.

A Season to CelebrateI asked each one of my girls what their favorite tradition was. Each had a different answer, which is not a surprise given their personalities. My youngest loves Halloween. We dress up as a family; one year we were the cast from Alice in Wonderland. After a few hours of tricks and treats, we head home to host a party on our front porch. We hand out thousands, yes thousands, of pieces of candy. For my middle, fall means the great State Fair of Texas. There is a reason this fair continues to land on the “best state fair” lists. It is unlike anything we had ever experienced, and it is certainly a highlight of our fall. My oldest relishes simple pleasures, so her answer was quite fitting. Her favorite tradition is a simmering pot of spiced cider on the stove; the aromas of cinnamon and clove filing our home, and she can leisurely sip on mug throughout the day while she is doing school work.

Every fall I am reminded of how faithful the Lord has been to my little family. While no family, including my own is perfect, we certainly do enjoy one another and love spending time together. I believe this is one of the many gifts He has lavished on us.

“Behold, how good and how pleasant it is when brothers dwell in unity!” Psalm 133:1

About the Writer:

Born in Kentucky, growing up in Arkansas, and now living in Texas, has given this southern preacher’s daughter many unique experiences. Whether setting a table for a new friend, preparing a meal for family, or sharing the love of Christ with a wounded soul, Nesli does it with passion and style. Married to her best friend, a mom to three precious girls, and a life long learner of Gods word, Nesli is excited to share her journey.

Leave a Reply

