Grateful for Grace

“I don’t know how you do it…” Ugh, that phrase is meant to be a compliment but it stirs up the same feelings in my soul as the phrase “bless your heart.”

One afternoon, a girlfriend and I talked about how the phrase “I don’t know how you do it…” evokes such distain. Do people really think I’m doing “this” well? Do they just feel sorry for me? I stopped to think; who had I said this exact phrase to and what did I see in them that would make me think such? As I continued to think, I realized it’s AMAZING GRACE and nothing else that enables these people. It’s the grace we are given from above. It’s grace that I am grateful for every day.

What appears to be amazing from the outside looking in, is the fact that we have been given a specific measure of grace to endure the path the LoGrateful for Gracerd has us on. The amount of grace required of a parent is immense. The amount of grace required of a parent of a child who has autism is immeasurable. The grace required for three kids with autism, only God knows.

There are hundreds of blogs and pages written by many moms and dads in similar situations. I read about how they have paid Respite, Medicaid for their kids, ABA therapy (expensive therapy I dream of my kids having one day), but in these blogs l don’t always see a grateful heart for God’s grace and provision. Though they may have all the world can provide for their children’s needs, they are lost, angry, and bitter. Sure I have been bitter and angry because we don’t have all the helpful resources available to us, but knowing God has a plan for these tiny humans gives me peace.

So when people say “I don’t know how you do it…” it’s a compliment in its truest form. They are witnessing God’s grace and love in my life. It’s not because I’m “Mom of the Year” or because I drank an energy drink or had an amazing workout; it’s all because God gives me strength and grace each day to accomplish His will. In the words of a favorite hymn, “The Lord has promised good to me, His word my hope secures; He will my shield and portion be, As long as life endures.”

AMAZING GRACE — how sweet the sound!

My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness. Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.
2 Corth 12:9

About the Writer:
Tamie is a stay at home wife and mommy of three kids with autism. She is a member of First Baptist Dallas and enjoys spending time hanging out at home with her family. Tamie has a servant’s heart and is passionate about encouraging other woman in their daily walk with the Lord.

Tamie’s personal blog is about her journey rearing three kids with autism and the lessons the Lord is teaching her along the way.

2 thoughts on “Grateful for Grace

  1. I just started following your blog. Thank you for sharing this. It really touched my heart. I am a retired special education teacher and I have heard that phrase many times.

Leave a Reply

