God Answers “KneE-mail”

I have a three-year old niece whose vocabulary is coming together quite nicely. Every time she comes over to visit, she’s added a few more words to her repertoire. However, there are times when she’s attempting to tell me something and I can’t quite interpret her “Three-year-nese” – much to her chagrin. Seeing the frustration on her sweet little face after she’s painstakingly repeated herself twice, I absorb the blame and ask her, “Can you show me?” Her face lights up from the brilliance of her aunt’s suggestion, and she quickly takes my finger and drags me behind her so that I can discover what she knows she’s been saying all along.

Like my precious girl, have you ever gone before God’s throne of grace in prayer and when you got there felt the disappointment build in your heart because you didn’t know what to say or how to say it? I know I have. When I find myself at that point, I usually am so weighed down by the heaviness of my heart that I can only “speak” in tears instead of words.

A Gift Like No OtherWith the Christmas holiday approaching, my heart is so elated to share with you the good news that God not only understands our tears and keeps record of them (Psalm 56:8), but He never struggles with interpreting our “Broken-nese.” We owe that all to the Holy Spirit.

Romans 8:26 – 27 says, “ … the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.”

That means when we don’t know what to pray, the Spirit takes over and speaks to God on our behalf!

The Holy Spirit leads God by the finger, so to speak, and says to Him, “See, Father! This is what they really mean!” And if that weren’t enough, Romans 8:34 is a beautiful reminder that, “Christ Jesus who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.”

I don’t know about you, but that’s what I’m most thankful for this holiday season. I’m grateful to be loved by my heavenly Father so much, that He has not only made provision for my life in eternity through Christ’s sacrifice on the cross, but He still cares about my today and has made additional provision for me through His Holy Spirit.

I pray you take courage that if this holiday season finds you with a heavy heart, you would run to our Father’s arms through prayer. You may not know what to say or how to say it, but rest assured, the One who knows what you have need of even before you ask is there – waiting, with arms wide open to inform you that He knows what you’ve been attempting to say all along.

About the Writer:
Christmas reminds Nicole of the Trinity in that Jesus signed her name to The Book of Life, the Holy Spirit sealed her for the day of redemption and her awesome God leads her not into temptation, but delivers her from the evil one! The holidays always prompts her to reflect on the greatness and graciousness of her God and draws her to the conclusion that, indeed, “Signed, Sealed, Delivered, she’s His”!

Leave a Reply

