The Gift of Life

Being a part of the First Baptist Dallas Women’s Ministry has been a huge encouragement to me in many ways. Finding grace, mercy, solid teaching, accountability, friendship and opportunities to serve has made the difference between life and death for me. Spiritually speaking, I have witnessed a complete change in my life from utter despair to renewed hope and joy in the Lord.

Walking through the doors of our church was definitely on my “Top 10” list of emotionally challenging things for me to do, as was walking down the aisle to become a member of our church. It is encouraging to me how much the Lord has blessed the choices in my life that were perhaps the hardest for me to make.

Choose LifeAs humbling as it is for me right now to admit, especially seeing the complete gift that she is, there is another choice that has changed my life in so many ways. That gift is my daughter. The news of her life growing inside of me was not one accompanied with laughter and anticipation, but an undeniable fact proceeded and followed by night terrors, tears, and hard choices. As her birth date grew closer, I vividly remember feeling two things primarily: alone and scared. Looking back I can see the overwhelming support of family, church, and friends. I can see God tenderly holding my hand and moving me forward to make the tough decisions based on trust that He would be enough. But what I celebrate right now is the unmatched grace that God has shown me to help me accept the gift He wanted to give me.

I wonder how many times I have not been willing to accept the gifts that God wanted to give me. I wonder how many times God wanted to do something especially good out of something especially difficult for me. I ask you the same question: is there something in your life right now that is beyond you? A person, a situation, a need, a desire that is too great for you to render to God? A call to obedience that doesn’t fit into your plan? My prayer is that God would encourage your heart to trust that He blesses obedience.

“I call heaven and earth to witness against you today, that I have set before you life and death, the blessing and the curse. So choose life in order that you may live, you and your descendants, by loving the Lord your God, by obeying His voice, and by holding fast to Him; for this is your life and the length of your days, that you may live in the land which the Lord swore to your fathers, to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, to give them.” Deuteronomy 30:19-20

Though I may not always respond in trust when presented with a choice to obey or disobey, I know God loves me enough to give me new opportunities to witness His faithfulness. When God asks something of me in obedience, I am learning to see it as a gift, not a burden. And in light of the Christmas season, I think of the obedience that Christ displayed coming to this earth to be born as a baby, live a sinless life, and die on the cross. Had He not been obedient to the Father’s will for Him to be punished for our sins, we would have never known the forgiveness that His death and resurrection won for us.

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ. At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

Lyndsay has a blog dedicated to sharing and celebrating the work of Christ through her experiences as a missionary, world traveler, knowledge seeker, and recipient of God’s lavish grace.

Leave a Reply

