A Christmas Conversation

I have a favor to ask of You. Favors are difficult for me. For me to ask a favor I have to come to grips with a few things. I am going to have to admit that I need help, that I cannot do this thing by myself. Now, I’m usually a pretty independent person, so admitting that is hard for me.

Next I have to acknowledge that You have something that I need, and I am going to have to reduce myself in such a way that will tell You I am interested in what You can offer me. (Another struggle with my independence factor).

Following that I am now faced with an uncertainty. Will You be willing to give that certain need to me? Have I done something to offend You that would prohibit the favor from being given? Do I need to offer something in return? It seems as though I have put myself at Your mercy. At this point I really don’t like the way I’m feeling.

So, you see, asking You for this favor produces a whole line up of self-evaluating questions that bring with them uncertainty, insecurity, and dependence on something of which I cannot control the outcome.

What is the answer? Grace. Immeasurable, persevering, glorious grace.Gift

I’ll never forget the day I understood this beautiful word. My mother told me this way: “Grace is God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense.” That was pretty simple for my young mind, don’t you think? Over the years I have come to understand that grace is a gift, you know, one of those special things that someone gives you that you neither deserve, nor is there any expectation on my part other than gratitude. It’s favor sent in my direction.

And now I know that with You, Lord, all the self-evaluating questions that come to my mind grow beautifully insignificant. It really has nothing whatsoever to do with me. It has everything to do with the Giver of the Gift. I simply hold out my hand and receive the Gift gratefully. And my question? It’s one You’ve heard before. Will You come into my heart? Will you forgive my sin? Will you grant me the favor of becoming my Savior? And from your word, I know the answer is “YES!”

“For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  Romans 6:23

About the Writer:
Pam Brewer is Director of Women to Women Ministry of First Baptist Dallas, a wife, a mom, a grandmother, and grateful to be included in this great team of Yada Yada bloggers.

Leave a Reply

