The Indescribable Gift

Last year, when I was home with my daughter during maternity leave, I made a list of things for which I was grateful. Don’t you love making a list like that? If you’ve never done it – do it today! It will change your perspective and attitude ASAP. Life is a gift.  And there are so many little gifts along the way.

Our Sunday School teachers, Marian and Reed Ashwill, in the Fellowship Class at First Baptist Dallas, remind us often that “God tells us every day He loves us.”  Are you looking for it?

When we are actively looking for daily gifts, it is easier to rest in and be transformed by the greatest gift.

This picture is from June 2012. This is the verse I wrote on the floor of the new worship center at First Baptist Dallas. The people of First Baptist Dallas put the Word of God on the foundation of the church – it’s just perfect. First Baptist DThe Greatest Giftallas has, since its founding, been a beacon of truth – the truth found in the Word of God proclaiming that Jesus has come to save sinners like you and me and to give us freedom through the free gift of salvation (Romans 6:23, John 3:16, Ephesians 2:8-9).  And here we all stood, writing Scripture that will stand forever (Isaiah 40:8) on the floor of the building we would use as a launching point to share the Gospel with the world.

Even in the midst of life’s hurts and chaos, my foundation, like the foundation of our church, is the Word of God. The Word of God tells me that I have firm possession of the ultimate gift (John10:27-28); and therefore, I have joy.  The greatest gift is unshakably mine.

“My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me; and I give eternal life to them, and they will never perish; and no one will snatch them out of My hand.” John 10:27-28

Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!”

Did you write a Bible verse on the church floor foundation? I would love for you to share which one and why!

About the Writer:
Caroline Moore is a wife and mom who loves Jesus. She also has a career in commercial real estate investing. God has given her a heart for encouraging other women. She and her husband, Eric, are the directors of the Fellowship Class, a young married Sunday School class, at First Baptist Dallas.

One thought on “The Indescribable Gift

Leave a Reply

