Welcome 2015!

2015The holidays are over and order is once again overtaking the grandiose spontaneity of the festive season. Though I may avoid putting up the decorations because nothing feels quite as warm and welcoming as the Christmas tree, I absolutely love the resolve of the New Year. In years past, I put much emphasis on self-improvement resolutions. This year, God is challenging me to take a different approach inspired by a handful of June Hunt’s Biblical Counseling Keys. I want to put more emphasis on who I already am in Christ. As I ask God for direction in how to have an appropriate mindset, there are a few truths that God is reminding me of.

  • God loved me and chose me while I was still a wretched wreck

But God showed his great love for us by sending Christ to die for us while we were still sinners. Romans 5:8 (NLT)

  • Even though the Holy Spirit is transforming me as a believer for the glory of God, He did not plan for me to be without need

For through the grace given to me I say to everyone among you not to think more highly of himself than he ought to think; but to think so as to have sound judgment, as God has allotted to each a measure of faith. Romans 12:3 (NASB)

  • Anything that says I need to be a better person to be worthy of His love is a lie

Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flow the springs of life. Put away from you a deceitful mouth and put devious speech far from you. Proverbs 4:23-24

  • The One who loves me perfectly wants to have a lifelong relationship with me

How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me! Psalm 139:17-18

  • Putting my hope in God’s perfect love for me teaches me how to love others

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another. John 13:34-35

Perhaps you have some practical application tips for cultivating a godly, Christ-centered self-image? Would you share if you do?

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ. At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

Lyndsay has a blog dedicated to sharing and celebrating the work of Christ through her experiences as a missionary, world traveler, knowledge seeker, and recipient of God’s lavish grace.

One thought on “Welcome 2015!

  1. Pingback: Welcome 2015! | Sing We Now of Christmas Blog

Leave a Reply

