Live, Love and Laugh!

Imagine my surprise one day when my daughter, as a little girl, asked why her dad and I were “so happy all the time.” For the life of me I couldn’t figure out where she was getting this! As I began to listen to her explanation, I finally figured it out. She felt that when we were happy we weren’t being honest with our Live, Love and Laugh!feelings in the midst of difficult circumstances. She had not yet discovered the joyfulness of a fulfilled life in Christ. It dawned on me that day that sometimes we assume our children (or others who watch our lives) understand the intricacies of walking with Christ daily.

My answer to her was this: “We are happy because we are grateful for God’s goodness to us, and peaceful with God’s plan for us, even if we don’t understand it. When others ask us why we are so happy all the time, we are given the opportunity to share what Christ has done for us.”

Talk about a teaching moment with my child! This Christianity thing is for real! Living every day as if I remember all the blessings I’ve received was being noticed. Hmm…what about those days when I wasn’t doing so well at this? What a stark reminder that parents (or should I say people) are always being observed.

Live, Love and Laugh2This is how the Word of God is introduced! Plodding through this life, year after year, and waiting for someone to ask us why there is something different about us. This year why don’t we live our lives in such a way that others will notice our joy and ask, “Why are you happy all the time?”

This year I pray that someone will ask you why you are so “happy all the time!”
Here are a few verses to get us started:

Philippians 4:4 (NASB)
Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice! 

Romans 12: 10,12
Be kindly affectionate to one another with brotherly love, in honor, giving preference to one another; rejoicing in hope, patient in tribulation, continuing steadfastly in prayer.

Psalm 46:10
Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations. I will be exalted in the earth!

Proverbs 3:5-6
Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your paths.

Isaiah 26:3, 4
You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You. Trust in the Lord forever.

1 Peter 5:7
Cast all your cares on Him, for He cares for you.

Philippians 4:19
And my God shall supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

About the Writer:
Pam Brewer is Director of Women to Women Ministry of First Baptist Dallas, a wife, a mom, a grandmother, and grateful to be included in this great team of Yada Yada bloggers.

Leave a Reply

