Grounded

Change — I both love and fear it. In many ways I structure my life in such a way to control the presence of what I fear. I avoid getting my hair cut, I workout faithfully, I never dated as a teenager, I have struggled with disordered eating over the years — I daily fight the desire to control “my” world. In spite of this (or perhaps proceeding this), my life up to this point has pushed me in extreme ways to run into the unknown, unpredictable and risky. I wish I could just look back on all the many times God has without fail led me, protected me, comforted me; and rest in the security of His presence and purposes. However, I still find that I fight to rest.Grounded

Psalm 139 is, to me, one of the most grounding portions of scripture.

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, You are there;
If I make my bed in Sheol, behold, You are there.
If I take the wings of the dawn,
If I dwell in the remotest part of the sea,
Even there Your hand will lead me,
And Your right hand will lay hold of me.
If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me,
And the light around me will be night,”
Even the darkness is not dark to You,
And the night is as bright as the day.
Darkness and light are alike to You. (verses 7-12)

When changes in life leave me feeling anxious, instead of exploding over the day-to-day stimuli and instead of making reckless, headstrong decisions; I find it helpful to focus on God’s love and His provision. Change is simply a veil to look through as I look to what lies beyond — an unchanging God who is eternally victorious and loving.

Change leads me to challenge the authenticity of my faith. When life is good, will I still passionately pursue Him? When life is disappointing, will I remain joyful? When life is overwhelming, can I experience His peace? When life is unpleasant, will I listen to His voice? Is there a change that can shake me so much that my faith wavers and my heart is swayed? Yes, no doubt. But the one holding on to me can never be shaken.

If we are unfaithful, he remains faithful, for he cannot deny who he is.
2 Timothy 2:13

In every life-change, God is revealing Himself. How has God revealed Himself to you lately?

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ. At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

Lyndsay has a blog dedicated to sharing and celebrating the work of Christ through her experiences as a missionary, world traveler, knowledge seeker, and recipient of God’s lavish grace.

Leave a Reply

