Redeeming the Table Take 2

The 2nd blog post ever written for Yada Yada was titled A Call to the Table. It is a beautiful description of the table we all daydream about. Not the one you see masterfully set in the Pottery Barn catalog. Almost anyone can do that. I can hear my 8 year old even now as I type, solving life’s most complicated issues: “Just Google it mom.” No, the table I’m talking about is the one your heart longs for, you’re welcome to go back and read about it (HERE).
I confess, I don’t have that table. I can Pinterest with the best of them, making my table exquisitely adorned. But the table that beckons you, the table that leaves your love tank full to the brim is a struggle, and I’m just not there yet. Table2
Let me tell you what my table looks like. I am about to give you some specifics. Don’t get hung up on MY specifics. There is something in your life that has been touched by the brokenness of this world. My brokenness happens to be (among other places) around the table.
Stress. Do you recognize this quality at your table? Rewind to 2008, my 11 month old was diagnosed with deadly food allergies. At 32 I re-learned how to cook sans dairy, egg, and beef. These foods were not allowed in the house. It was just too frightening. Fear. Do you recognize fear at your table? How about less frightening, 6 and 8 year old picky eaters….can I get a witness?!
Sometimes the table is THE last place I want to be, and yet it is where I am supposed to be. The least lovely places often turn out to be a golden latitude in your heart. Did you know “God ordains restoration” (Oswald Chambers My Upmost for His Highest)? In the hardest of places, historic of screw-ups, to the smallest of hiccups—God ordains restoration. He has known from the beginning we would need it. You can read it in Ezra 1-6 or just about any other place in His word. In my life (specifically 2015 A.D.), the God of all creation has shown me to pray: “LORD, redeem my table!” And why wouldn’t He? Redeemer is one of His names! Redeeming my table starts with me.
The brokenness of this world has touched every one of our hearts in some way. It may not be your dinner table that needs redeeming. Whatever it is, Jesus wants you to bring it to Him.

“He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.” Psalm 147:3

What is broken that needs to be bound up in your life? Call it out to Him in this moment! He hears you, He sees you, He redeems!

About the Writer:
Mindy Truly is the wife to her patient and much better half – Jeff, and a reluctant (initially) homeschool mom to their 2 sons. She earned her BS in Environmental Design from Texas A&M 8 years prior to being called to leave her safe career to become a stay at home mom – something she had no experience in. For this and several other things the LORD has called her family to do, God has shown Himself faithful to provide for His call. She loves to encourage women with the gospel…the gift that keeps on giving (Colossians 2:6).

Leave a Reply

