She Changes Like the Weather in Texas!

SheChangesLiketheWeatherinTexasGood grief! I woke up this morning to find a winter wonderland (ice, not snow, my friends in the north!) in my Texas neighborhood. Just two days before, I was sitting by the lake taking in the fresh air and watching the ducks and pelicans swim by. Well you know what they say about Texas weather…if you don’t like it, stick around a while and it will change for you.

Sitting by my fireplace and looking out the window, I began to think about all these sudden changes, how disconcerting and troubling they can be; a to do list that is no longer applicable, a walkway I can no longer use, and a car that sits in the garage, useless. If I sit here much longer I may find myself depressed!

But if I look on the other side of the room, I see a different picture: my husband peacefully reading and sipping on warm coffee in front of the fireplace, a pot of hot soup simmering on the stove, and Ellie, the dog, grateful to be in her cozy bed under the desk. This is quite a different view from the same seat. Am I in the same house?

Changes in our lives can happen this suddenly, and depending on the direction we look we can find ourselves disconcerted and troubled, or we can choose to look across the room toward faith, believing that God has this change squarely in His control. The wisdom to know the difference between what I can change and what God is changing is my daily prayer. It is this wisdom that gives us freedom to move and act in a peaceful and joy filled life.

Job 36:26-33 puts it this way:
How great is God—beyond our understanding!
    The number of his years is past finding out.
He draws up the drops of water,
    which distill as rain to the streams;
the clouds pour down their moisture
    and abundant showers fall on mankind.
Who can understand how he spreads out the clouds,
    how he thunders from his pavilion?
See how he scatters his lightning about him,
    bathing the depths of the sea.
This is the way he governs the nations
    and provides food in abundance.
He fills his hands with lightning
    and commands it to strike its mark.
His thunder announces the coming storm;
    even the cattle make known its approach.

So now I say, when change comes my way, bring it Lord! For when I see change, I see Your movement in my life, change that has been sifted through Your almighty hand. And I need only to look in Your direction to see that it will be for good.

About the Writer:
Pam Brewer is Director of Women to Women Ministry of First Baptist Dallas, a wife, a mom, a grandmother, and grateful to be included in this great team of Yada Yada bloggers.

Leave a Reply

