John 3:16

I oftentimes find myself wondering why it is so important for a person to feel loved. Though we may know God places a high enough value on us to send His Son Jesus to die for us, I know personally that I am still tempted to feel unlovable when others chose someone or something else over me. Rejection is a hard thing for anyone to experience, and unfortunately it usually happens in many different degrees to all of us regularly. Regardless of who does the turning of affection or attention elsewhere, it can potentially shake us to the core causing the affected one to doubt their value or worth as a person. So what is the solution? How can a person determine if the words in John 3:16 are affecting their life? For me, I have a test that helps me determine whether or not I am dwelling in the truth or embracing a lie. It goes something like this:

  • Is there a lack of peace?
  • Is there a sense of anger?
  • Is there a heart to serve or am I wallowing in self-pity?

If I can answer “yes” to any of the above, it usually means that I am not dwelling in the love of my Father. Neither am I accepting it for myself, nor am I extending it to others. Though the love of another is certainly a precious gift that deserves to be treasured, God’s primary desire for His children is to love others, not to seek love for themselves. Loving another when I don’t feel loved in return is perhaps the most meaningful act of worship that I can offer to the Lord (Mark 12:30-31). It is also a spiritual test, for it is God who said that when we love others, He abides in us (1 John 4:16).

Only GOD’S GREAT LOVE shifts lives in such a phenomenal way that all else pales in comparison. And even if we still naturally desire to be loved by others, I think it of great value to remember why God’s love is so desirable—why God’s greatest act of love is seen in a Savior and not in something else.John 3:16

1. It was what we needed
2. Knowing and following God is the abundant life.²
3. Everything else can be taken away from us, but our position as a recipient of God’s love is secure through Jesus Christ. ³
4. God’s character can be trusted and His love is pure – not self-seeking.⁴

God, help us to “know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge, that we may be filled up to all the fullness of God (Ephesians 3:19). In the meantime, help us to love generously – as you did.

¹John 1:12, Romans 5:8, 1 Timothy 2:5-6, 1 John 3:16
²Philippians 4:19, John 10:10, Jeremiah 29:11, Ephesians 2:10
³John 10:27-30, Deuteronomy 31:8, Romans 8:38-39, Isaiah 54:10, Hebrews 13:5-6
⁴1 Corinthians 13:5, Hebrews 6:17-19, Matthew 10:29-31, Romans 8:32

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ. At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

Lyndsay has a blog dedicated to sharing and celebrating the work of Christ through her experiences as a missionary, world traveler, knowledge seeker, and recipient of God’s lavish grace.

Leave a Reply

