Sit and Smile

Are you one of those people who thrives on working towards and accomplishing goals? Do you find it hard to sit down until a task is done? I am. With a young child I am starting to see that not everything that I value as important really is. In my life of independence I could spend as much time as I deemed necessary to finish a task, crossing all the t’s and dotting all the i’s. Now, as I wash dishes and look wistfully at some space that I would love to be organized, I recall the Bible story of Mary and Martha. The value that Jesus placed on relationships over doing is convicting. Jesus’s words to the sister preoccupied with doing, “Martha, Martha, you are worried and bothered about so many things; but only one thing is necessary…” remind me of what Jesus truly values: loving Him and loving others (Luke 10:38-42 & Matthew 22:36-39).

Honestly, it is still a practice for me to regard my place in the Kingdom of God as a quiet following of my Savior more than a loud declaration of intent. I must practice “being available” instead of desiring some presupposed results. ASit and Smileccomplishing a 5 year plan, no problem! The old me would boast in that. Putting others first in reverence and love for my Savior, that requires Holy Spirit power!

When I think about the plan of God for each of us (which actually I try to relinquish more than interpret), I am drawn to Proverbs 31:10-31. Even though I am somewhat relieved that the woman depicted is very purposeful and fruitful in her actions, what shouts out to me more than anything is from verse 25,

“And she smiles at the future…” Proverbs 31:25

Oftentimes in the midst of worrying about something getting done, the moments to follow become more anxious, more frustrated. I want to be the kind of woman that smiles even when I don’t know the results. I want to be the kind of woman that can laugh about the future while smiling at those God calls me to love. I want to be like Mary, who chose to prioritize Jesus’s plan for the evening because she knew He had everything else under control.

This my prayer is for all of us ladies who are in need of God’s grace: “Lord, help us to cast our cares on You, trusting that You care for us. Remind us that You are accomplishing Your plan as we follow Your ways. Send Your promised peace in the midst of our daily battles so that we can spend the next moment sharing and showering love on those around us in worship to You.”

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ. At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

One thought on “Sit and Smile

Leave a Reply

