God’s Retirement Plan

I don’t know why God’s plans still surprise me. Perhaps it is because I am so pleased that He is willing to use me. After years of walking with the Lord and watching Him work in my own life as well as the lives of friends and family I should no longer be amazed by the details of how God works His plan out in our lives. I have watched Him provide the exact amount of money to handle a need too many times to keep track of. I remember one instance years ago when a lady in my church called and asked me to stop by her home. She had a check for me for the exact amount needed to handle some dental work for my husband. She said she knew that it had to be for a specific need because the Lord had given her a very specific amount.

Shortly after retiring while I was seeking what the Lord had for me to do in retirement, I saw information in our Women’s Ministry newsletter about a short term mission team that our Women’s Ministry leadership wanted to form, and they were looking for someone to coordinate this new area of ministry. When I read the article it was almost as if the information jumped off the page! I have felt led to do mission work for quite some time, but it was as if God sent me a personal letter inviting me to work in this new area of ministry for our church. Jeremiah 29:11 tells us:

“For I know the plans that I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.”

God is truly the one who initiates our plans as well as the one who provides what we need to carry out those plans. All we have to do is be tuned in to His voice, follow His lead, and He will do the rest! I challenge you to begin God's plan for retirementliving a life that centers on doing God’s will, and then just sit back and watch Him work. It is truly marvelous to be able to be in on what God is doing, and I am ever grateful to Him for allowing me to that opportunity to serve Him.

About the Writer:
Anna Schaefer leads the W.E. C.A.R.E. team for the Women’s Ministry of First Baptist Dallas, a widow, a mom, a grandmother and grateful to the Lord for giving her opportunities to share with other women in several ministries through First Baptist Dallas.

Leave a Reply

