The Faith of a Child

One summer my daughter decided she wanted to learn to play the piano and wanted a piano of her own. This was no small request as funds for a piano were certainly not in our budget. Her father was in school, and I was the only financial support for our family. I told her I would pray with her about the piano. We wouldn’t let anyone know, and we would simply trust that if God wanted her to have a piano He would provide one.

The Faith of a Child

One day my pastor’s wife called and asked if my daughter wanted a piano. She had a piano that her parents had given her when she was twelve, and none of her children wanted this turn of the century upright piano that she dearly loved. She decided to pray about the piano, and God directed her to my daughter.

I explained to my pastor’s wife that we had been praying for a piano but had told no one about it because we wanted to know that if God provided a piano that it was truly from Him. She was overjoyed to know that she had heard clearly from the Lord and that it met a need that we had been praying about. We made arrangements to pick up the piano, and my young daughter learned a great lesson in trusting God to supply her needs. Paul writes in Philippians:

And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

This is a scripture that has been very important to me for many years, and it is one that my daughter truly understood at the age of nine.

I won’t say that my daughter has always had everything that she ever wanted, but she certainly has always had a very strong and positive faith in God and that He would supply her needs. Her faith has always encouraged my own faith through the years.

My prayer is that others will see that this lesson of waiting for God’s provision laid the foundation for a lifetime of trusting in God for my nine year old daughter. As parents, we don’t always need to give our children everything that they want. Sometimes the best gift we can give them is a lesson in waiting on God’s provision.

About the Writer:
Anna Schaefer leads the W.E. C.A.R.E. team for the Women’s Ministry of First Baptist Dallas, a widow, a mom, a grandmother and grateful to the Lord for giving her opportunities to share with other women in several ministries through First Baptist Dallas.

Leave a Reply

