My Hope is in You

I tried to think of a good story, a memory or life lesson I once learned on hope. But the truth is I have nothing. I got nothing. I sat in front of my computer for hours and all I could think of was the truth I wanted to talk about, not the fluff that an intro lends itself to.

When it comes to the hope of Jesus, a true understanding is the foundation of all that life is. Hope in Jesus is what brings you identity, it’s what brings you passion, and it is what brings you understanding. Hope in Jesus is what gives life.

I found myself hopeless earlier this year. I was deep with a job I did not want but looked good to the world, I was overwhelmed with church commitments that left me drained; I was nowhere near where I thought I would be as a 28 year old.

I had a choice.

I could continue buying into the lie that my hope would be found in this world–that finding a man, a good job, a hobby, or anything really, would one day satisfy the hopelessness I was feeling. Or, I could learn what hope in Jesus was really about.

Hope

I had experienced a true understanding of Christ’s hope earlier in life. You know, one of those moments when you pause and think, “I thought I got this already. I thought I trekked this path and came out knowing the Lord better,” only to find out that you have fallen into a pit and need God to pull ya out again and you need to relearn the lesson all over. So I knew what I needed; I needed Jesus to pull me back to the only foundation I knew was solid….hope in Jesus.

Hope in Jesus is the truth that He sent His Son to die for me, He choose my sin and shame, and died that I might live in the hope that one day He is coming back.

Guide me in your truth and teach me,
for you are God my Savior,
and my hope is in you all day long.
Psalms 25:5

So I choose Jesus. I choose hope in Christ and praise the Lord that Christ never un-chooses me.

For me, waking up to the hope that comes with Jesus meant finding my identify in Him and not a relationship status, it meant finding value in His name and not mine as I climbed the ladder of professional success; it meant remembering that every encounter and every conversation has the power to reflect Jesus to someone.

I am choosing to live in the power of the hope of Jesus. I pray that today you choose to as well. That you will view the hope that comes with Christ as the foundation and the definition of who we are as women and as daughters of the Most High King.

About the Writer:
Liz, just a girl who spends her days with fifth graders challenging the normal way of teaching, spends her afternoons with her friends laughing and challenging the definition of community to be something much deeper, and spends her evenings with Dancing with the Stars and Pinterest, challenging the worldly norm of a 28 year old.
Leave a Reply

