His Presence First

Days run together and responsibilities appear unending. Life is full, but I long for time to sit at Your feet, Lord, like Mary did. I don’t want to be Martha hurrying and scurrying about busy doing what needs to be done but missing the most important thing–time sitting at Your feet–learning from You–hearing You pour out the heart of Your Father–my Father–God Almighty, maker of heaven and earth. You are the embodiment of all that God is in human form. You understand my busyness, my hectic frantic rushing here and there doing Your work–doing good things in Your name–but still like Martha–perhaps missing the main thing. Help me stop the frantic busy pace and sit with You for a wHis Presence Firsthile. Let me drink a cup of coffee and reflect on Your Word and on what You truly want for me–fellowship with You–fullness of joy–life abundant and free from worry–life that overflows with Your love, mercy, and grace–life that knows no limits.
I long to be free from that part of me that compels me to be busy doing Your work. I long to be Mary sitting at Your feet soaking in the very presence of the Son of God–the true essence of the person of God–instead of being busy about Your work in this world. If I don’t sit at Your feet and learn from You, I will never be effective in the things I want to do for you. I love being used by You–being allowed to be a small part of what You are doing in this world today.
Thank You that You loved me enough to set aside all that You knew in heaven to come to earth as a baby, to grow into a man; to offer up Yourself as the sacrifice to cleanse my sin. If I had been the only sinner on earth–Your love for me still would have sent You to the cross on my behalf. I will never fully understand how You could give up so much for me–how Your love for me could be so infinitely wonderful that You chose to die so that I could live.

In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace. Ephesians 1:7

About the Writer:
Anna Schaefer leads the W.E. C.A.R.E. team for the Women’s Ministry of First Baptist Dallas, a widow, a mom, a grandmother and grateful to the Lord for giving her opportunities to share with other women in several ministries through First Baptist Dallas.

Leave a Reply

