Investing in the Women of God

And let us encourage one another to love and good deeds, not forsaking our own assembling together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another. And all the more as you see the day drawing near. Hebrews 10:23-25

The women of First Baptist Dallas have had a profound impact on my life:

Nicole Calhoun is a prayer warrior. She is a heart sister and a dear friend. After I endured two miscarriages, she prayed for and fasted for my daughter regularly while I was pregnant. It was truly the greatest gift anyone gave to me as I awaited her birth. I LOVE to give Nicole a hug every time I see her. She is such a joy; and I feel blessed by her presence because she is, without fail, encouraging.

Crystal Pennington is a missionary with Wycliffe. She and her husband Ryan were members of our church before they were called to Papau New Guinea. I’m encouraged by Crystal’s faithfulness–to serve in a far away land helping her husband in their life’s work of translating the Bible into unreached languages, while also raising children. I’m also awestruck when I get an occasional e-mail of encouragement from her or note that she’s praying for me. How does a woman so invested in God’s mission to the unreached overseas have time to invest in me–all warm and cozy back here in the States?

Marian Ashwill has invested in my life from the day she met me. She opens her house for our Ladies Bible study. She prays for me regularly. She has consistently spoken biblical truth into my life. There are lots of young moms and wives that Marian takes the time to encourage; but when she spends time with me, she is clearly engaged in this. Here with me.

There are many, many other women who encourage me in my walk: a well timed text from a friend who says “God just placed on my heart to reach out to you,” a quick lunch to catch up; a note of encouragement in the mail.

My walk with Christ has been shaped, strengthened, and reinforced by the women who have taken the time to invest in me. Their encouragement fills me with the power of God. Consider how you can encourage other women in their walk: a text, a card (who doesn’t love snail mail?!), a reminder of a Bible verse that speaks to their heart or current circumstance.

The women mentioned above are not necessarily my “best friends.” Let me be clear–they are near and dear and precious to me in every possible way. I could not love them more. I mention this just to say that a relationship built on Christ is strong. You don’t have to be someone’s nearest and dearest to be an encouragement to them and have a profound and lasting impact on their life.

Marian has often told me, “Two things are eternal–people and the word of God.” Let us encourage other women to good deeds, and not forsake gathering together, but consistently and with renewed vigor remind each of them of how valuable they are in Christ. Let’s invest in what is eternal. The people of God, particularly the women God has placed around us, are a place we’ve been commanded to invest.

About the Writer:
Caroline Moore is a wife and mom who loves Jesus. She also has a career in commercial real estate investing. God has given her a heart for encouraging other women. She and her husband, Eric, are the directors of the Fellowship Class, a young married Sunday School class, at First Baptist Dallas.

Leave a Reply

