Aliens and Strangers

I was cooking dinner one evening when I heard something on the news that immediately got my attention. One hundred finalists had been chosen for a chance at receiving a one-way ticket to Mars. I stood there in disbelief, absent-mindedly holding up the cooking spoon, which was now dripping spaghetti sauce onto the stovetop. I reached for the remote and quickly turned up the volume over the sounds of my playing kids. I listened in awe as the news personality explained that a non-profit organization based in the Netherlands is planning to establish a permanent colony on Mars. The human colonists will complete their lives on Mars, never to return to Earth.mars

For the rest of the evening, I could not get Mars off my mind. The idea of human beings being sent to start a colony on Mars bewildered me.

As I reflected on the “what ifs” and worried about these future Martians, I thought about the scripture from Peter that refers to Christians as “aliens and strangers.”

He writes:

Beloved, I urge you as aliens and strangers to abstain from fleshly lusts, which wage war against the soul. Keep your behavior excellent among the Gentiles, so that in the thing in which they slander you as evildoers, they may because of your good deeds, as they observe them; glorify God in the day of visitation. 1 Peter 2:11-12

It occurred to me that we, God’s people, are already aliens living in a strange land. Although we have secured land, built homes and live out our lives here on Earth, the Bible tells us that we are pilgrims, sojourners, traveling to our permanent destination, which is in Heaven with Christ our Lord.

As people of God on our pilgrimage through Earth, how then should we live? We are to live in such a way that unbelievers will witness our excellent behavior and by seeing God’s grace in us, have a desire to believe in the gospel of Jesus Christ.

About the Writer:
Gabby Brown is a daughter of God Most High. She is married to her best friend and she is the mother of two amazing little boys. She leads the adoption ministry at First Baptist Dallas, and supports her husband in his role as teacher of the Growing Roots Sunday School class. 

Leave a Reply

