Love More, Fear Less

Some stories you hear or read stick with you over the years. As a young girl I remember reading Corrie ten Boom’s “The Hiding Place” and being particularly affected by one recount of how God protected her from a piece of shrapnel, catapulted directly at her pillow, that would have killed her in her sleep had she not been restless and followed sounds of her sister having a cup of tea in the kitchen. It was upon returning to her bed and finding the potentially lethal piece of metal, that Corrie’s sister proclaimed that the safest place to be was in the center of God’s will.

That story and idea has encouraged me many times throughout my life to rest in the Lord’s protective care. Though the story of Corrie ten Boom and her family was wrought with danger, persecution and cruelty; ultimately God used this woman in an incredible way to share the Truth of Christ, alive and well in her soul. He never left her or stopped protecting her even in the midst of her sufferings.

1 John 4:18 says, “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear…”

Whenever fear overtakes me, I am reminded that my fear reveals a shallowness of my understanding of the Father’s love for me. It doesn’t matter what the fear is, it is still a symptom — pointing to need in my spirit. And though the Lord certainly does not condemn my volatile human emotions (Hebrews 4:15), the Lord Jesus died to protect me from the penalty of my sins; He rose again to show that no power of destruction could overcome Him. He is coming back to prove that all accounts of injustice will be settled and the effects of evil in this world will completely and finally conquered. In short, He is bigger than any fear or threat.

The verse continues with the following: “…the one who fears is not perfected in love.” If demonstrating love to the Father means trusting and allowing Him to remove unwarranted fears or fear of condemnation, what good reason does one have to behave otherwise? And if the fear be looking directly into my eyes, may I still behave as Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego; who in the face of danger proclaimed God’s soverienty and their faithfulness regardless of the outcome (read more in Daniel chapter 3). And although I know it is really faith in action that demonstrates trust of the Father, it helps me to see the motivation behind that faith as love for my Lord.

Love More, Fear LessNot long ago, when preparing to leave church, a car parked unusually close to me and forced me to place my child’s car seat behind the passenger’s side seat. After several unsuccessful attempts to try to fit it through the tight space anyway, I was on the verge of being perturbed by the whole situation when the Holy Spirit calmed me and reminded me that God is a part of even these small inconveniences. On the way home that night something blasted through my windshield propelling broken glass to where my daughter would normally have been sitting. She was unharmed only because God was watching out for us. At once I remembered Corrie’s story and knew this was God’s sweet way of showing His love in a way that reached the deepest corners of my heart. His way of reminding me that He is forever my Protector.

“We love, because He first loved us.” 1 John 4:19

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ in response to His gracious work in her life. At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

 
2 thoughts on “Love More, Fear Less

Leave a Reply

