He Protects Me

I have not been in many situations when I thought my prayers needed to be answered immediately because my safety was at stake, until recently. But when I cried out to Him, He heard me in the midst of the storm.r

Not long ago, I went on my first trip, with a large well known Prison Ministry group, into a women’s facility in Texas. I was anxious about going behind the walls, anxious about speaking the name of Jesus in such a dark oppressed place, anxious about my safety while behind the walls all day for eight hours. Everything was going so beautifully. God’s presence was in that place and the first six hours were amazing. We had the last session with the ladies, and as I walked out into the yard to speak with inmates I locked eyes with a dark soul and immediately was paralyzed by fear.

I was talking to a beautiful, joyful woman, listening to her story about her grandkids, the love she had for them and if you had overheard our conversation you would have never thought she was in prison. Just as I looked over her shoulder, out came a girl with complete darkness in her eyes. She looked like she was about to attack someone. Another woman comes quickly to her, standing in front of her as if she were blocking her from going any further. The speaker began her testimony, and I sat with my joyful inmate as I could feel the darts in my back coming from the angry woman seated behind me. I could not even listen to our speaker give her testimony because fear had consumed me. I quickly began to pray, “Lord, protect me. Lord, if it is your will for me to share Jesus with this angry woman, give me the words to say and take away my fear. Lord, if you don’t want me to speak with her, MOVE ME! Move me Lord, I’m afraid and I need YOU to move me from this place.” I must have repeated these words for at least 15 minutes while the speaker continued to talk. Then she stopped and said, “Ya’ll I’m feeling the Lord wants me to ask this question…”

The speaker looks down at the girl sitting directly in front of her and said, “Do you know the Lord?” The girl looked up at her and shrugged her shoulders and looked away. The speaker said, “You need to go talk to this lady right here.” She points over at ME! She said, “Ya’ll need to move over there (pointing to the corner of the yard) and go talk one on one now.” Let me tell you I still get chills thinking about the awesome power of the Holy Spirit. Protection like I’ve never had, an answered prayer immediately in my time of need. Do you cry out to Him when you need protection? Does your help come the Lord or are you depending on someone else to save you?

In my distress I called upon the LORD,
And cried to my God for help;
He heard my voice out of His temple,
And my cry for help before Him came into His ears.
Psalm 18:6

About the Writer:
Tamie is a stay at home wife and mommy of three kids with autism. She is a member of First Baptist Dallas and enjoys spending time hanging out at home with her family or a quiet dinner with girlfriends. Tamie is passionate about encouraging other woman in their daily walk with the Lord.

Tamie’s personal blog is about her journey rearing three kids with autism and the lessons the Lord is teaching her along the way.

Leave a Reply

