The Power of God

Beach or mountains? I will choose the beach every time. I love the beach. I love to stand with my feet in the warm sand, with the cool waves just barely washing up to my ankles, and to stare out over the vastness of the ocean. The colors captivate me, pulling me in, bringing peace to my soul. Blue. Blue so deep, yet vivid and bright. I attempt to soak it all in. I get lost in the beauty surrounding me. The sound of the ocean drowns out the world, and I am filled with joy. I love the peaceful shore, where the tiny waves collapse on the sand. My husband loves the more active beaches, where the more substantial waves roll in and crash on the shore. He loves to play in the waves, dive into them, and body surf back to the beach. I’m content to stand on the shore and watch him having fun.The Power of God

The truth is, I fear the ocean. How can something so gorgeous and peaceful be so powerful and mysterious? I can not fathom the depths of the ocean or understand the power that each wave possesses. The ocean humbles me, reminding me of how small I am, how weak I am. The ocean can be forceful and unforgiving, and I fear it. I am unable to comprehend its vastness and unknown variables. I am fascinated by it, but I will continue to fear it. I fear the ocean, but I love and respect it, too.

How much more should I fear the creator of the ocean? I am unable to comprehend the power of God, the creator of all things. He has the power to be forceful and unforgiving, but He has been so good to me. I can not fathom the depths of His grace or understand why He would extend His grace to me. I am pulled in by His love and filled with joy. I am captivated by His word and made painfully aware of my weaknesses. He engulfs me with peace and love. I fall to my knees, in awe of His righteousness and mercy.

And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. 2 Corinthians 12:9

I am weak. I can not fathom the depths of my weakness. I know I am weak, but my pride is constantly trying to convince me otherwise. My pride. It is a daily struggle to overcome my pride and ask for God’s help. I find myself in a daily battle, to allow myself to be weak, so that the power of our Holy God can be made perfect.

Great is the Lord, and highly to be praised,
And His greatness is unsearchable.
One generation shall praise Your works to another,
And shall declare Your mighty acts.
On the glorious splendor of Your majesty
And on Your wonderful works, I will meditate.
Men shall speak of the power of Your awesome acts,
And I will tell of Your greatness.
They shall eagerly utter the memory of Your abundant goodness
And will shout joyfully of Your righteousness. Psalm 145:3-7

About the Writer:
Meghan is a wife and stay at home mom to two amazing little boys. She has a heart for service and enjoys working on the Oasis Leadership Team at First Dallas. 

Leave a Reply

