Wisdom of God

Have you ever felt that life can be so hectic; it often feels like you are drowning? The numerous responsibilities that life brings can be overwhelming. It is in those busy seasons that I think about my grandmothers. I wonder how they managed to keep it all together. They did not have nearly as many of the modern conveniences that I have now and yet my memories of them and their homes are memories of peace and joy. I want that for my home and my family.

I am sure that when their kids were small like mine, they might have felt the same sense of exhaustion. But I also know that through the years, they learned that what is most important is making God a priority.

Wisdom is with aged men,
With long life is understanding. Job 12:12

Growing up, I witnessed my grandmothers consistently immerse themselves in prayer and Bible reading.Wisdom of God  Each morning, they did not leave their bed until they had read a scripture and passage from a devotional. Each evening, they did not get into their bed until they got on their knees to pray. My grandmothers understood that in order to make it through this world, they had to rely on the wisdom of God, which is found in His word and in relationship with Him.

As a child, I could not understand why they chose to spend so much time in these activities. But as an adult, I now see the importance of spending time in God’s presence and seeking His wisdom. All too often, we rely on our own understanding rather than relying on the wisdom of God. This leads us down a path of greater confusion and disappointment. I challenge us all to choose the good part, the one thing necessary, by investing time in prayer and studying God’s ultimate truth. This will give us the wisdom we need to navigate through life with grace and peace.

About the Writer:
Gabby Brown is a daughter of God Most High. She is married to her best friend and she is the mother of two amazing little boys. She leads the adoption ministry at First Baptist Dallas, and supports her husband in his role as teacher of the Growing Roots Sunday School class.

Leave a Reply

