Embracing Difficulties

Three years ago I tripped and fell in my bedroom shattering my right humerus as I slammed into a tall solid oak dresser. Thankfully, I normally carry my cell phone in my pocket, and I managed to get the phone out with my left hand to call for help. The humerus in my right arm was shattered at the top and the rest was broken into five pieces. It took two surgeries and a year of physical therapy to get the arm healed and as functional as possible.

The process of healing from the two surgeries provided plenty of time to think! Scripture indicates in Romans 8:28 that “We know that all things work together for the good of those who love God: those who are called according to His purpose.” During my recovery from surgery I soon realized just how short and fragile life is and began to focus on the things in my life that are really the most important. With this renewed focus on the spiritual side of my life came a real dissatisfaction with the stress associated with my job. Being away from work for an extended period of time allowed me to realize just how stressful my job was and that perhaps I would be better off if I found a job that was much less stressful or just took early retirement.

While breaking my arm was the worst thing that happened in my life in 2012, it was also the best thing that happened as it caused me to take a serious look at my life and reassess my goals. I am happy to say that I worked my last day at my job a year after I broke my arm and that I am now happily living in early retirement and enjoying being available to do the things that the Lord wants me to do on a daily basis.

Embracing DifficultiesEven during the most difficult of times, God’s love for us prevails. For me, embracing the difficulties during the healing process was the catalyst for change in my life. I pray that as you face difficulties in your own life that you will realize that there just might be something that God wants you to learn in the midst of the difficulty that will change your life for the better. The big lesson I learned was that His love never fails.

About the Writer:
Anna Schaefer leads the W.E. C.A.R.E. team for the Women’s Ministry of First Baptist Dallas, a widow, a mom, a grandmother and grateful to the Lord for giving her opportunities to share with other women in several ministries through First Baptist Dallas.

Leave a Reply

