Peace of God

It was an average Monday morning, I was getting my three kids ready for school and in a quick quiet moment as I dressed the Lord spoke clearly, almost in what seemed an audible way and said, “Whatever happens today, trust Me.” This didn’t freak me out at all, almost to the contrary. Such peace came over me in that moment. It was as if God was giving me a heads up and who doesn’t love that? I knew this day, this moment, was coming because for months the Lord had been preparing me for something. I knew this because I was closely walking with Him daily, all day. Listening to His direction, studying His word and praying, continually praying. What I understood was God’s timing is not my timing and until all of the pieces were in place, I would need to wait until He was ready to show me the next step.

Just then around 10:30a.m., I hear what sounded as if someone was breaking into the house through the garage door. Nobody was home except me, so I came out of my bedroom gripping in my right hand, a large, silver candelabra, yelling out “Who’s there?” At that moment my heart drops when I see his face, and the look in his eyes when he said, “I got laid off.” As my husband and I lock eyes, a peace came over me, recalling the words that had so clearly been whispered into my ear just hours earlier, “Whatever happens today, trust Me.”

Before me stood my husband completely defeated and blindsided; our sole provider, now without a job or a way to support his wife and three kids. As the days have turned into weeks, we are leaning on our true Sole Provider, Christ. The key – we continue to trust God even when everything screams for us to doubt His goodness. The verse that comes to mind each time my faith begins to waiver and my peace waning is:

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13”

PRAYI know during this time our family is without income our faith will be tested, our endurance will grow stronger; and we will have a peace that many will not understand, a peace that surpasses all understanding, which can only come from The Lord.

About the Writer:
Tamie is a stay at home wife and mommy of three kids with autism. She is a member of First Baptist Dallas and enjoys spending time hanging out at home with her family or a quiet dinner with girlfriends. Tamie is passionate about encouraging other woman in their daily walk with the Lord.

Leave a Reply

