Where’s Wyatt

When my son was a baby, he would pull his blanket over his eyes and we would say “where’s Wyatt?” He would pull down his blanket and smile and laugh. This was a fun game. As he grew into a toddler, the game “where’s Wyatt?” took on a new meaning. Our families quickly learned to begin searching for Wyatt anytime one of us asked that question. Wyatt has a very curious mind and when he gets focused on something, he just goes.

Wyatt was 3 years old when First Baptist Dallas opened the new Worship Center andWhere's Wyatt Children’s Building. It was Easter Sunday and it had been a fabulous morning of worship and praise. The whole church was buzzing with excitement and there were people everywhere. My husband and I picked the boys up from their new classes on the first floor. We went down the hall to play on the playground, and I took pictures of the boys. I took a few pictures of Wyatt and then asked him to put a toy back so we could go see the fountain. I took a picture of my husband and our other son. I turned to check on Wyatt, but I didn’t see him. He was gone. I immediately went into frantic search mode.

I tried to stay calm, but my heart was pounding and worst case scenarios were flying through my head. I hurried down the hall, peeking into rooms and asking every friend I passed if they had seen him. Nothing. I reached the main hall and told a lady at the front desk that we couldn’t find Wyatt. She radioed for more help. Elevators. Wyatt has always been obsessed with elevators. I rushed toward the elevators in the building, then in the parking garage. He wasn’t there.

Fountain! I had told him we were going there next. As I headed out the front doors, there he was, walking back across the street with an unknown lady holding his hand. Tears of relief began to form in my eyes as I scooped him up. Then the fear sank in. He had crossed a downtown Dallas street, by himself. My husband and I were shaken to our core.

That night, after he fell asleep, I knelt beside his bed to pray. My worrisome heart prayed and gave Wyatt to God. I knew this would not be the last time Wyatt wandered off. The only thing I could do was submit Wyatt to God’s will. I prayed for his protection and safety. I prayed for God to remove the overwhelming fear from my heart and replace it with peace. Not just peace, but the Peace of God.

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all comprehension, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

About the Writer:
Meghan is a former art teacher who feels blessed to now be a stay-at-home mom to her two boys. She loves volunteering at her sons’ school and with the First Baptist Dallas Women’s Ministry and First Impressions Team. She is passionate about art, cooking, working out, and playing volleyball.

Leave a Reply

