Faithful. It’s Who He IS

When life as you know it changes, the bottom falls out, and everything gets turned upside down, what’s your first response?  When my first child was diagnosed with autism, my first response was denial.  When my second child was diagnosed with autism, my first response was fear.  When my third child was diagnosed with autism, my first response was gratitude in prayer.Faithful

What I have learned over the past 9 years is God is faithful.  He can be trusted.  He is everything His Word says He is.  I am now able to look back to that first diagnosis and see the Lord’s hand over everything.  The doctors and therapists He placed in our lives to help my daughter, the Sunday School class He so wisely guided us to, and the support system He was building around us without us even realizing it was all a part of His work.  I didn’t understand all that was happening, but became grateful He was in control when I was not.  What transpired over the last few years has been a joy in which to be a part.  I have seen God work in my life and in my husband’s life as we navigated the water of three kids with autism.

We saw everything we read about in scripture of who God is to be true.  He knows every detail and nothing surprises Him.  He’s trustworthy for this reason alone and more than able to guide our every step.  When everything seems out of control and beyond our control, we could rest knowing He works all things for good to those who love Him.  We only needed to keep our eye on the Cross, not the storm.  Through it all, we have direct access to Christ.  We are able to cry out to Him in the midst of all the chaos, knowing He hears my heart’s cry, and counts my tears.  My pain will not go to waste.  His word will not return void.  I have seen my God be exactly who He says He is.  He is faithful.  He can be trusted.  He loves me and my family far more than my head can comprehend.

“Therefore, those also who suffer according to the will of God shall entrust their souls to a faithful Creator in doing what is right.” 1 Peter 4:19

I will seek His will for my life, trust that when life gets tough and trials come, He is who He says He is.  Faithful.

About the Writer:
Tamie is a stay at home wife and mommy of three kids with autism.  She is a member of First Baptist Dallas and enjoys spending time hanging out at home with her family or a quiet dinner with girlfriends.  Tamie is passionate about encouraging other woman in their daily walk with the Lord.

Leave a Reply

