The Word of God–Fighting Sin

Your word I have treasured in my heart, That I may not sin against You.(Psalm 119:11)

 As my Bible study reached Genesis 3 about the fall of man, my own sin became front and center. The study asked us to list three sins we struggle with the most and find verses that indicate why each sin was destructive and then other verses to help us guard against that sin.

CarolineMayI have made lists of Bible verses before about places to turn when you “struggled” with something: a list for finances, a list for worry – you get the idea. But to call my own sin out, to name it and confront it – was completely foreign and life changing.  When we specifically call out our sin and use the Word of God to confront it, with His help, we can destroy it.

One of my sins is anger and a quick tongue, particularly with my husband.  When I began to get angry with him and feel the urge to lash out, I pull out my list of verses.  I’m confronted with the truth of God’s Word.

First, I read the devastation of my own sin:  “A foolish woman tears down her house with her own hands.” (Proverbs 14:1)  I am confronted that my cutting words tear down our house. I do that.

Then I turn to how to handle it: “Let no unwholesome word proceed from you mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, that it may give grace to those who hear.” (Ephesians 4:29)  It stops me in my tracks. I approach my husband with grace and humility.

There is power in God’s Word. When sin creeps in, I read the verses over and over. I am confronted that my desire is sin, but God has provided the way to escape the temptation (1 Corinthians 10:13). I fight sin with the power of God’s Word.

I challenge you to do the same. Pray and ask God to reveal sin in your life.  When He has spoken clearly to you, list those sins. Then search the Bible for answers – verses that warn about the destructiveness of that sin and verses that instruct you on how to fight it.  Treasure God’s Word in your heart that you may not sin against him.

About the Writer:
Caroline Moore is a wife and mom who loves Jesus. She also has a career in commercial real estate investing. God has given her a heart for encouraging other women. She and her husband, Eric, are the directors of the Fellowship Class, a young married Sunday School class, at First Baptist Dallas.

 

Leave a Reply

