Word of Peace

Like most anyone there are things I don’t “love” about myself. What I perhaps dislike the most about myself is my mind’s ability to believe or become confused by lies. thoughtsOften times my mind is my greatest enemy. For that reason the passage in Ephesians that speaks to this brings me great comfort:

Then we will no longer be immature like children. We won’t be tossed and blown about by every wind of new teaching. We will not be influenced when people try to trick us with lies so clever they sound like the truth. Instead, we will speak the truth in love, growing in every way more and more like Christ, who is the head of his body, the church. (Ephesians 4:14-15 NLT)

God’s Word has become the greatest instrument in my life for the Holy Spirit to usher His peace into my life. And I am encouraged to know that my inner turmoil is the result of a greater war against the glory of God (Ephesians 6:12). Having a battle plan for those times gives me courage to trust and hope in the Lord’s victory and reminds me to bring my thoughts in line with His Word (2 Corinthians 10:5).

If the above words seem impractical or far-removed from your life, just pause with me to consider how many times a day you react in a less-than-desirable way to the circumstances around you or to the emotions stirring in you.  Any time another person is able to disturb my peace and joy, I have a choice to be influenced by my own or another’s faulty ideas.  Any time an unexpected circumstance stimulates a reaction of fear, frustration or disappoint; I have a choice to bring the beliefs that influence the power of my emotions into alignment with God’s Word.

This could be as simple as pausing to say a quick prayer for God’s wisdom and direction before feeling worried about the future, or as difficult as choosing to respond to criticism with gentleness instead of self-defense.  I remember when I was working through a confusing, complicated, emotional mess of divorce vs separation in an abusive relationship; the easiest thing for me to do would have been to run, hide, completely close my heart to any other resolutions, and not allow God to reveal His will in His timing.  Several times I almost did just that and would have been justified in many ways by the world’s standards for choosing to move on before God’s appointed time for me.  However, the Holy Spirit kept bringing me back to a place of doubt that my actions were completely submitted to His Word and high calling for my life.  Doing just that—waiting in reverence for His Word—guided me to resolutions that I wouldn’t have come to on my own.  His Word has been a peaceful, good path. The choice to wait till God’s Word can be upheld in all my actions is rarely easy, but always best.

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. ” (Psalm 119:105)

Thank you God that your Word revives the soul, makes wise the simple, brings joy to the heart, and insight to life!(Psalm 19:7-8)

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ in response to His gracious work in her life. At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

 

 

Leave a Reply

