Kindness

The very first bible verse I taught our little boys was “Be kind to one another.” (Ephesians 4:32).  They were only two and three years old at the time.  The youngest was completely non verbal, not yet diagnosed with autism and the older had been recently diagnosed with autism Loving boysand was beginning to speak some words.  Our oldest son picked up on the verse very quickly because he had many opportunities to repeat it each time he was unkind to his little brother.

I didn’t know exactly what they were each learning since their verbal skills were extremely limited, but I wanted to make sure I poured into them God’s Word, teaching them what Scripture tells us.  The Lord had been working in my heart too – kindness wasn’t just for the children.

The writer of Ephesians implores us to walk in a manner worthy of the calling with which we have been called, worthy of the calling.  Were my actions worthy of my calling?  Absolutely not.   Ephesians goes on to tell us, reminding me, grace was given according to the measure of Christ’s gift.  Ah grace, I love to get it, but I don’t always like giving it.

As the days turned into weeks and weeks into months the little boys made great progress with learning their verse, “Be kind to one another…” and I began to learn this verse had so much more to offer me than an elementary meaning.  I too began to memorize the last few verses of Ephesians chapter four.  It made a huge difference in my life.  It changed the way I thought about my words.  It changed the words I chose to speak to others.  It changed my heart.  Are you struggling with kindness too?  Thinking it’s just something for a little kids to learn – not realizing that the writer of Ephesians was speaking to us about our Christian walk, not to children.

Let no unwholesome word proceed from your mouth, but only such a word as is good for edification according to the need of the moment, so that it will give grace to those who hear. Do no grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving each other, just as God in Christ also has forgiven you. (Ephesians 4:29-32)

I learned we aren’t studying scripture simply for behavior modification, it’s a heart transformation.  Be kind to one another, and forgiving…just as Christ did for you.

About the Writer:
Tamie is a stay at home wife and mommy of three kids with autism. She is a member of First Baptist Dallas and enjoys spending time hanging out at home with her family or a quiet dinner with girlfriends. Tamie is passionate about encouraging other woman in their daily walk with the Lord.

Leave a Reply

