Kind Reassurance

People often tell me that I seem like such a peaceful person—so serene and that I do things with such ease.  At that point in the conversation my thought is that it would be very rude to burst into laughter, remembering the classical proverb: “Still waters run deep.”  Peace is something that I claim only by the grace of God and by His faithful kindness at work in me.

Anxiety usually pops up when something I value appears to be threatened.  For peaceexample, as a child being afraid that my parents would stop loving me if I didn’t accept an offer to go with one of them to the grocery store.  Childish insecurities don’t just go away on their own though, and neither is it a one-time, fix-it-and-move-on kind of problem!

There are definitely some practical things that one can do to abide in peace:

Belong to God through faith in Jesus Christ (Romans 5:1)
Pray (Philippians 4:6-7)
Commit to walk in obedience (Hebrews 4:9-11)
Prioritize righteousness (Isaiah 32:17)
Be filled with the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23)
Walk with the Peace-giver (John 14:25-27, 2 Thessalonians 3:16)
Release expectations to the Lord (Psalm 46:10)
Choose faith in the Lord (Matthew 8:24-27)
Trust in the Lord (Proverbs 3:5-6)

However, for me one of the greatest blessings I’ve known is when God Himself speaks words of grace and love over me.  When it’s not about me doing the right thing to overcome, but when it’s about Him seeing my mental turmoil and quieting it.

When I was a child, it was the reassuring words of my father saying, “Oh, I didn’t even give that a second thought” that brought me comfort; or maybe my mom’s playful chide, “Stop saying, you’re sorry.”  But as I grow up in the faith, I realize that it is wrong for me to exhaust others with my need to have a peaceful mind.  The only one who can truly bring me peace is Jesus.  Christ doesn’t condemn me for anxious fears and insecurities; instead, He meets me with reassuring words of unconditional love, strength and compassion.

Therefore the Lord longs to be gracious to you.  And therefore He waits on high to have compassion on you.  For the Lord is a God of justice;  How blessed are all those who long for Him.  Isaiah 30:18

And having known such a great grace in my weaknesses, the Lord Himself equips me with the power to move forward in confidence for His glory (Hebrews 13:20-21).

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ in response to His gracious work in her life.  At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

Leave a Reply

