Holiness of God

I have to be honest; I have been putting this blog off for as long as possible.  I believe this is the fourth deadline I am coming upon as I sit in my cube writing.  I love writing, but I have been lost in a sea of uninspiration for months now, and I was not sure how to get over it.  I walked into work this morning (I work in the Women’s Ministry of First Baptist), and I went straight to my cube and said (inside my head) “well, let’s blog today…”

I opened up the email, which was asking for my blog, to find the title for my month. Yet again I was blown away by the consistency of God in my life.  You see, this whole semester I have found myself in the book of Ephesians.  I have taught from this book more than a couple times, and if you have needed advice in the last few months I have sent you to the book of Ephesians.  If I have been lost I found myself reading from…the book of Ephesians.

The character of holiness of GodGod is found in the word holiness.  What stands out the most to me about the holiness of God is that in all his set apartness, his sacredness, his transcendent-ness; He is still personal and passes this holiness on to us as believers.

In (Ephesians 4:23-24), Paul is calling the church at Ephesus to take off their old selves and put on their new selves created in the image of God.  There are two words that greatly stand out to me from these verses.  The first word is RENEWED. And in this passage it is a present passive verb.  I had to look up what that meant.  It means that something is happening to the main character (US) but something else (GOD) is performing the action.  We are not renewing ourselves, prais the Lord.  God is renewing us.  When we look at it through the lens of our new selves created in the image of God; the way we think, feel, act all changes because we are now seen as a daughter of the most high God.  We are created in his likeness.  His likeness.  He is renewing us to be more like Him!!

Before we get to the second word I need to have a moment of truth–up to this point I have never opened my Strong’s concordance.  I bought it at a yard sale thinking:  1)maybe one day I will want the Greek or Hebrew translation for words in the Bible, and 2)looks like this would look cool on a coffee table, thank you Pinterest.  I used it when prepping to look up the word holiness referred to in this passage. The definition of holiness really blew me away. Strong’s defines it by using the phrase ‘human statues; it is our divine human character’.  Holiness is in our bones when we are living in our new selves.

The thing that stands out to me as I learn more about the Holiness of God is that God is passing all this on to us, as believers. What strength, courage, and hope is found in knowing that we are considered holy because God is Holy!

About the Writer:
Liz, just a girl who spends her days in seminary classes, spends her afternoons interning with First Baptist Dallas Women’s, spends her evenings with her friends laughing and challenging the definition of community to be something much deeper. If you need her you can probably find her watching Dancing with the Stars while on Pinterest, challenging the worldly norm of a 28 year old.

Leave a Reply

