I Can Only Imagine the Holiness of God

How can we describe or even fathom the holiness of God?  Our God is so good, pure, unique, righteous, and separate from the world; it is hard for us to imagine his holiness. His perfection in holiness is incredibly humbling and can sometimes be terrifying in comparison to my sinfulness. The Holman Dictionary defines holiness as being “set apart, sacred, referring to a characteristic of God”.

Isaiah the prophet to the Southern Kingdom of Judah in 740 B.C. gives us a glimpse of the holiness of God on His throne in his vision.

In the year of King Uzziah’s death I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, lofty and exalted, with the train of His robe filling the temple. Seraphim stood above Him, each having six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. And one called out to another and said,

‘Holy, Holy, Holy, is the Lord of hosts, The whole earth is full of His glory.’ (Isaiah 6:1-3)

In the verses that follow, Isaiah immediately realized how very unworthy he was, as we all are, to do anything for Him because of the uncleanliness we all have within us.

Like Isaiah, I am so very unworthy of fellowship with a Holy God, because of my sinful nature (Romans 3:23).  Only through grace (Ephesians 2:8-9) and thHope in Gode blood of Christ am I forgiven. Even though I have accepted Jesus gift of grace, and know my debt of sin is paid once and for all (sins of all my past, present, and future actions); there are still times I sin.  Like having a cloud hanging over me, my relationship (not my position) with a Holy God is damaged.

In his book, When Forgiveness Doesn’t Make Sense, Dr. Robert Jeffress explains this process as “judicial” and “parental” forgiveness.   He goes on to explain judicially or legally God has forgiven us, we are His children and nothing we can do will ever change that relationship.  However, when His children disobey, there has to be admission of sin in order for reconciliation or the close relationship to be restored

How do we develop and maintain a relationship with a Holy God?

When I think of my inevitable future meeting with a Holy God someday, verses from the song, “I Can Only Imagine”, from Mercy Me comes to mind.

“I can only Imagine,
What it will be like
When I walk by your side

I can only imagine
What my eyes will see
When your face is before me. . . . .

Will I stand in your presence?
Or to my knees will I fall?
Will I sing Hallelujah?
Will I be able to speak at all?

I can only imagine. . . . .”

About the writer:
Beverly has been an educator, administrator, and educational sales representative, Sunday school teacher, and mentor; but most importantly is a wife, mother, and grandmother with a passion for sharing Christ.

Leave a Reply

