The Sufficiency of God

And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:19)

His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. (2 Peter 1:3) (NIV)

peace“My life is a perfect graveyard of buried hopes”,  says one of my favorite fictional characters, Anne Shirley, in LM Montgomery’s classic Anne of Green Gables.  If we are past ten, most of us have felt the same way, though perhaps we’ve not expressed the thought as charmingly as our quaint heroine.  In a film adaptation, Anne asks her guardian, Marilla, “Can’t you even imagine you’re in the depths of despair?”  To which Marilla replies, “No I cannot, to despair is to turn one’s back on God.”

During a particularly difficult season, I too, felt the sadness of buried hopes.  Through a series of unfortunate events, my life suddenly took on a bleak and somber filter, tempting me to despair.  However, the truth of the Scriptures reminded me that if I chose to travel far into the realm of despair, I really would have to turn my back on God.  Two small words, one in each of the aforementioned verses, became anchors to the hope that seemed destined to be blown away in the winds of adversity.  That word is “all” in Philippians and “everything” 2 Peter above.  With the prayers and encouragement of many family and friends, I began to take back the ground covered with fear and discouragement caused by my circumstances.  No matter how dark the days seemed, the light of the truth of God’s Word never went out.  I began to see God’s provision in my physical, as well as emotional being, in ways I had never experienced even during more pleasant seasons.  Words I had quoted to others became the very breath of God to me, sustaining me with confidence that God really would supply all my needs, and He has given us everything.

As I clung to the very Word of Life since all scripture is from God (2 Timothy 3:16a) as revealed in the Word of God (John1:1-4), His sufficiency for all my needs became apparent.  Where I felt fear and anxiety, He supplied peace, as I made my requests known to Him (Phil. 4:6-7).  He was true to His Word, in that everything I needed, I saw Him provide.  One of His most precious gifts to me during this time was the confidence that His power has given us everything we need (2 Peter 1:3a) past tense, in the Person of Jesus Christ.  Because I have Christ, I have everything I need, “according to His riches in glory” (Phil. 4:19b). Those hopes, once buried, are living again.

About the Writer:
Nan is so grateful to belong to God’s people.  She loves getting to know all kinds of people and enjoys discovering new places, which is a good thing since she’s moved twenty five times.  She has been married to Jim, a pastor, for 34 years, and together they have four grown kids, a son in love, and three grand puppies.

Leave a Reply

