Only a Penny

PennyThis caught my eye as I was walking into the office this morning.  I wouldn’t have noticed it; except today, I was looking down at the pavement.  It stood out to me because I could relate with that little penny.  It looked like how I feel these days:  scarred and dirty, worn out and worthless, discarded and left outside to weather in the elements.  It was only the faint imitation of a new penny, what it had once been.

I wonder if other people ever feel like that pitiful little penny I found, not worth much to begin with, but after being out in the world even less valuable.  Like a penny, they are trampled on, used carelessly, discarded, and left alone.

As I pondered my little discovery, God reminded me of a familiar passage. Even though I may not feel very valuable, God tells me in Psalm 139:14 that I am fearfully and wonderfully made. He tells me in 1 Peter 2:9 that I am chosen. I am a royal priesthood belonging to God so that I can declare the praises of Him who called me out of darkness into His wonderful light. I am a daughter of the King.

You wove me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Psalm 139:13b-14a 

God is intentional in every detail of your life.  There is nothing accidental or mistaken about how He created you.  God knows you better than you know yourself, and yet still loves you with an everlasting love.  He knew you before you were formed in your mother’s womb and He knows you completely.  You are His masterpiece, and He made you for His purpose.

You have enclosed me behind and before; and have laid Your hand upon me. Psalm 139:5 

The Lord of your past has hemmed you in.  He wants to redeem what is behind you. He longs to take the mistakes and pain of your past and use them to strengthen you. The Lord of your future goes before you to prepare the way.  He knows what each day holds for you and longs to give you the manna you need for the things each day brings.  The Lord of your present keeps His Hand upon you and walks beside you through every moment of your life.

So today, look for pennies.  When you see one, pick it up and let it remind you of your value to God.  As you put the penny in your pocket, breathe a prayer thanking God; and reflect on your value and worth to Him who created you just the way you are!

I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to bring you harm. Plans for a hope and a future.’  Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

About the Writer:
Teri is a wife and mother of five.  She is passionate about teaching, writing and ministering to fellow sojourners.  She and husband, Ken, spend their days working in ministry and their evenings and weekends raising their youngest child, a fifteen-year-old son.

Leave a Reply

