Finding My Life

There are many things I have come to be happy without, or with for that matter.  There are a few things that I would still prefer to have.  And there are even fewer things that, without fail, make my heart ache when they are missing.  I miss people.  I miss friends that are no longer close by.  I miss family that is serving as missionaries in another country.  I miss fellow brothers and sisters in Christ from past churches that I’ve been part of.  Most people who know me well, know that I am somewhat reserved about letting “new” people into my life.  Though I love to know others, I sometimes idealize the emotional island where I am untouched by the inevitability of death, separation and sin.

However, God called His children to a different life—one of fellowship with one another (Acts 2:43-47), seeking the good and edification of one another (Ephesians 5:19-21), and fully committed to sharing the hope of Christ with others (1 Corinthians 9:19).  If it weren’t for these verses, and the Holy Spirit, who continually pulls me out in my weakest moments; I would gravitate towards living alone in a hut or cave somewhere meditating in quiet isolation where I am not saddened by the loss or absence of those I care for.  And actually, Meditatethat was the plan at one point in my life when I “hid out” with monks in silent meditation without verbal interaction for periods so long I couldn’t remember the last time I spoke with someone.

 But what a unique design God proposes instead:

 Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.  Hebrews 12:1

 The following verse (Hebrews 12:2) says that we are to keep our eyes on Jesus.  We are also to think about all He endured so that we don’t become weary and give up.

Revolutionary!  Die to self and live for Him.  It’s not always easy to give up desires for emotional security and allow for impermanent relationships with others.  If my ears are tickled by the lie that I am actually giving something up by choosing to serve Him and others first, God encourages me with a promise of even greater value.

“He who has found his life will lose it, and he who has lost his life for My sake will find it.”  (Matthew 10:39)

 When God’s reassuring promises are fresh on my mind; it is much easier to lay aside sadness, grief or insecurities. They fade away as I trust that He will help me “find my life” as I “loose” it.  To me, that is what it means to hold up the shield of faith (Ephesians 6:16) against lies of Satan that might declare that I “my” needs won’t be met by a loving God, who is, and has at His command, everything I need.

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ in response to His gracious work in her life. At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

Leave a Reply

