When We Doubt and Wonder, Can God Fix This?

According to Webster’s dictionary, sufficient means to meet ones needs, or adequacy, as opposed to inadequacy.  When we sometimes feel hopeless, or when bad times come, we may wonder and doubt if God is able to meet our needs.  Can God fix this?

In his book, How Can I Know, Dr. Robert Jeffress discusses we are not alone in that struggle, as many people have struggled with doubt and uncertainties about God.  He goes on to describe how that is natural, and gives us numerous evidences of God’s sufficiency and existence, with one of my favorite being creation itself.  With over hundreds of billions of galaxies in the universe, we are seemingly but a spec of sand in the Milky Way galaxy in which our whole solar system exists.  How did such a universe come into existence without a divine creator?  We are given just a small glimpse, or hint of the beginning of our earth when God spoke it into being. (Genesis 1:1-3).  Did you catch that?  How can we doubt a God so omnipotent who simply speaks creation into being?AugustBeverly

Sometimes, even though I know how very powerful God is, I don’t like to wait.  I want to fix it now, especially when it is something I want resolved for my family.  Never mind if God is working in their lives and has a plan (Jeremiah 29:11), I just want to fix it now!

Is it my foolish pride, in that I think I can do better than God?  How many times have I rushed ahead of God in my own decision making, like Saul did in the beginning of his reign over Israel (I Samuel 13:2-14) eventually costing him his leadership?  Or worried about problems when statistics prove over 90% of the things we worry about never happen.

In the New Testament, Paul encourages and reminds us:

And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus. Now to our God and Father be glory forever and ever. Amen.  (Phil. 4:19-20)

What a precious promise, He will supply ALL our needs, not just some!  Numerous other precious passages note God’s care for us, not the least of which is Psalm 23 in which our Lord is described as our caretaker, provider, protector, and comforter.

Lord, teach us to:

About the writer:
Beverly has been an educator, administrator, and educational sales representative, Sunday school teacher, and mentor; but most importantly is a wife, mother, and grandmother with a passion for sharing Christ.

Leave a Reply

