Only God Can Move the Clouds

On the evening of the total lunar eclipse of the super moon a while back, we let our sons stay up late to see it.  In my head, I pictured an enjoyable, quiet evening with my loved ones snuggled close, admiring God’s handy work together.  Anyone with kids knows that was completely unrealistic.

cloudsIn reality, the evening was frustrating and loud.  My husband and I spent the majority of the evening playing referee between the boys, watching frogs jump, readjusting the telescope (because the boys kept bumping it), and repeatedly saying “Look at the moon boys.” The clouds were not cooperating either. There was a thin veil of clouds covering the moon. We could see the moon, but not clearly.  I was feeling defeated.

My 4 year old son was whining, because I could not move the clouds.  With a hint of sarcasm, I remarked, “Only God can move the clouds.” My 5 year old son’s face lit up and he said, “We can ask God to move the clouds!  Let’s all hold hands and I’ll pray.”  My son voiced the sweetest, most honest prayer to God.  He thanked God for the day, our family, the moon eclipse, and asked Him to please move the clouds.  My husband and I exchanged a look and a smile.  It was obvious to me that our son offered his prayer out of faith.  He believed with all of his heart that God would answer his prayer. However, my thoughts were pessimistic.  I was already pondering how I would explain unanswered prayers to my sons.  Then the boys started arguing again; and just like that, the sweet moment was gone:  more arguing, more frogs, more distractions, and more frustrations.

Then, one last “Look at the moon boys!”  And the clouds had moved! Both boys gasped and were speechless for a fleeting moment. They were looking at the moon, but I was looking at them.  Their faces were full of amazement.  “Mom! God heard us and He moved the clouds!” they exclaimed.

And all things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.  Matthew 21:22

My son was bold in his beliefs. He believed and he prayed and he received.  My heart dropped and this scripture came into my mind:  “You of little faith, why did you doubt?” (Matthew 14:31b)  Why did I doubt?  Did God really just intervene in our lives and answer my son’s prayer?  Absolutely!

My boys learned the power of prayer that night.  It was a beautiful testimony of God’s faithfulness and His ability to intervene in our lives.  I also learned a wonderful lesson that night.  God does not promise us a future without clouds.  There will be clouds, distractions, and frustrations.  Storms will come.  It will be hard to see clearly, but I will not doubt His ability to help us in a time of need.  It is okay to ask for help.

But he must ask in faith without any doubting, for the one who doubts is like the surf of the sea, driven and tossed by the wind.  James 1:6

About the Writer:
Meghan is a former art teacher who feels blessed to now be a stay-a-home mom to her two boys. She loves volunteering at her sons’ school and with the First Baptist Dallas Women’s Ministry and First Impressions Team. She is passionate about art, cooking, working out, and playing volleyball.

 

Leave a Reply

