The Intervention of God

Do you ever have times when you know God is at work but you really don’t understand what He is doing or just how He will work things out?  So many times in my life I have had to just trust that God would intervene in a given situation without knowing just exactly what He would do.  One of those times was when my youngest son decided to enlist in the Army.

My son really wanted to go to Iraq and serve his country.  I was not concerned about the situation because I knew that at seventeen years of age, God had called him to the ministry.  I knew if he was to eventually be in full time ministry that God would protect him.  I had no idea how God would work things out, but I knew He would.

In the first week of basic training my son started having some health issues that required surgery.  After he recovered from surgery, he went back to basic training without the benefit of any physical rehabilitation.  Several days into the second basic training session he injured his left shoulder; however, they allowed him to continue with his training class until the end of the training.  When he could not complete his physical fitness test because of the shoulder injury, he was placed in a rehab unit and his class went on with their specialization training and eventually on to Iraq.  After seven months of unsuccessful rehabilitation and a total of fifteen months at Fort
Benning, the Army discharged my son with a twenty percent medical disability and sent him home. His disability qualified him for vocational rehabilitation which paid for his college education.Iraq car bomb

The young men who trained with my son, who were in the same area of specialization, lost their lives soon after they reached Iraq when their vehicle ran over an IED.  I was grateful that God had other plans for my son.

For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.  Jeremiah 29:11

God intervened in a way that I never could have imagined because He has other plans for my son’s future.  When you find yourself in a situation where you just can’t imagine how God is going to work things out, just trust and watch Him work.

About the Writer:
Anna leads the W.E. C.A.R.E. team for the Women’s Ministry of First Baptist Dallas, a widow, a mom, a grandmother and grateful to the Lord for giving her opportunities to share with other women in several ministries through First Baptist Dallas.

Leave a Reply

